The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Ah-Ha!

on May 4, 2012

I was watching one of my favorite movies, “Remember The Titans” yesterday while working in the kitchen. Even though I was only paying half attention, I found myself stopping specifically to watch my favorite scene.  At the end of a rather heated discussion, Gary, the team captain says to Julius, the kid with whom he can’t seem to get along, “See. That’s the worst attitude I’ve ever heard.”    Julius responds, “Attitude reflects leadership. Captain.” Gary has an “Ah Ha!” moment.

I love Ah-Ha. (No….not the 80’s band with great hair.) I love it when I’m explaining something to my kids and it registers on their face that they are now following me. I love seeing the look on people’s faces when something suddenly occurs to them. I love watching people discover something. I love ah ha moments!

Ah-ha’s come in all different shapes and sizes.  Here are just a few:

Little ah-ha’s: You finally found the wisk you’ve been looking for. “ah-ha. That’s where the kids put it when they unloaded the dishwasher.”  You are listening to your teenage girls bicker. “ah-ha.  That’s why my mom sighed so much and Dad always had chores to do outside.”

Medium Ah-Ha’s: Ones that make you contemplate or that teach you something. When our 20-year-old son was about 2 my mother and I were walking with him and came to the steps of her back deck. Wired for independence from the time of his birth, my little spitfire toddler turned and looked at my mother, who was trying to take his hand to help him, and said, “I do it MYSELF!” He proceeded to hold his own little hand and work his way up the steps. At no time was my son in danger. We were right behind him to catch him if he slipped or fell, but he would have gotten up the steps much quicker and with less effort if he’d have let his grandmother help him. My mom looked at me and said, “I think that is probably just how we look to God.”  Ah-Ha! Now whenever I find myself trying to struggle through something in my own strength, I picture my little boy and those steps.

Big AH HA’s:  The ones that hurt a little (or a lot).   The ones that make you realize that you probably need to change something. Our youngest son, age 10, likes to have a plan.  I totally understand that.  I like to have a plan. I live for the plan. I work the plan.  He, however, is relentless until he has the plan.  For example: He will ask me what we are having for dinner while he is eating his breakfast.   If I don’t have an answer, he asks when I pick him up from school.  If I still don’t have an answer, he will ask after his homework is done. No answer?  I better have one by 5pm or I can expect that he will follow me until I start making whatever it is we are having.   The other day my husband and I were talking about him and his relentless pursuit of an answer to when his older brother will be home to visit this summer.  I believe I said something like, “I keep telling him that it isn’t time to worry about that yet. The kid needs to relax.”   My husband gave me a look.  THAT look.  You know the one.  The “half grin, raised eyebrow, eyes are laughing but I don’t want to laugh in your face” look. Then he said, “Hmmm.  Who does he remind you of?”  Was he implying me?  Surely not me! Little me who is already looking at houses in a town that we aren’t moving to for another year?  Me who is already bookmarking job listings in an area I won’t be in for another 13 months?  Me?  AH HA!  OUCH!!!!

Perhaps I really only love other people’s “Ah-ha Moments” now that I think about it….

Feel free to share yours!

Had to throw this in for my fellow 80’s bands fans.

Leave a Reply

