The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Hee Haw And Eeyore

on June 7, 2012

Gloom, despair and agony on me. Deep dark depression, excessive misery. If it weren’t for bad luck I’d have no luck at all. Gloom despair and agony on me.

Anyone remember that song from the show Hee Haw? Anyone remember the show Hee Haw?  Though I hate to admit it I do remember watching the show with my grandparents on occasion when I was growing up.  It’s a little too “rural” for my tastes but my grandparents sure enjoyed it.  I know the show’s producers meant for this to be hilariously funny. It is amusing but, looking back, I think this may have been my grandfather’s philosophy for life. Unfortunately his heritage lives on some days.

It’s been a hard few weeks.  Not horrible, not devastating, not earthshaking…. just hard.  Living life day-to-day sometimes can just be hard.  I know as a “good Christian woman” I’m not supposed to say that.  I’m not supposed to have hard days and if I do I’m certainly not supposed to talk about it. I’m supposed to paste on that plastic perfect Christian smile and proclaim the victory everywhere I go.  That’s encouraging others in their faith – right?  Perhaps not.  Perhaps that is setting people up for failure.  Perhaps that is portraying things not as they are but as we wish they would be.  Perhaps that is instilling a false hope in others.   

John 16:32-33 “Indeed the hour is coming, yes, has now come, that you will be scattered, each to his own, and will leave Me alone. And yet I am not alone, because the Father is with Me.  These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.”  NKJV

If you look at these verses in context you will find that Jesus is talking to his disciples right before he is arrested to be crucified.  In other words, He knows He is about to have a very hard day.  He isn’t denying that it’s hard.  He isn’t pretending He’s excited that this trial is coming so that it can build His faith.  He is stating a fact. He tells His disciples that though they are about to abandon Him and things are about to get hard, He’s going to be ok.  He can be at peace because He knows what He’s about to do.  and why He’s about to do it. He tells them the reason He is telling them this is because they too will face tribulation: they are going to have hard days. Not might.  Not could. YOU WILL have tribulations.  They are going to happen. There is no use pretending they aren’t. The problem with the end of that verse is that most people misinterpret “but be of good cheer” or in some versions “take heart.”  That doesn’t mean be happy.  It doesn’t mean you should be enthusiastic about your trials.  It means “find comfort”, “don’t lose hope” or in Paula Version, “Don’t give up.”   Considering that in these two verses when talking about hard days – tribulations – Jesus tells us to have peace and find comfort in Him, He is telling us things might be hard.  It’s ok to admit that.  The point is to not lose hope.

I love Winnie The Pooh and all his friends. I especially love Eeyore.  If you are unfamiliar with him, he is the pessimistic donkey who lives in the 100 acre wood with the rest of his friends. I find him quite hilarious not to mention adorable.  He has the best lines: “It’s not much of a tail, but I’m kind of attached to it.” or “Thanks for noticing me.” Very gloomy.  Very much believes he is not worth anyone bothering with.  One of the cutest of the Pooh characters. Honestly he is one of the characters I understand the best.  (The other is Rabbit, but that is a blog for a different day.)  There are days when what I call “The Spirit Of Eeyore” descends upon me. It’s part of that heritage I mentioned before.  It descends on several members of my family, thankfully, usually, not at the same time. Days when it just seems like nothing is ever going to get better.  Days when there seems to be no point to anything.  It is on those days that I must remember that our minds are a battlefield and I must not give control over to the enemy. Those are the days that I have to tell myself not to give up.  To find comfort in the Lord.  To not lose hope.

 It’s been one of those weeks.  It’s honestly been a couple of those weeks. As I was drinking coffee out of the  mug that my daughter brought me from her recent trip a thought occurred to me.  Perhaps I need to use this adorable mug, with its picture of Eeyore and his most well-known sayings, as a reminder of how NOT to think every morning.  Perhaps I should start every day reminding myself of how I’m going to sound if I’m not careful.   The thought rang through my head:

“If the enemy can keep you hopeless he can keep you helpless.” 

I’m not willing to lose this battle. I know in Whom my hope lies and He NEVER loses!

Our new family theme song: check it out

Leave a Reply

