The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Dad’s Home!

on June 15, 2012

One of my favorite quotes from the movie “Look Who’s Talking”  occurs when James is telling Mikey good-bye because Mollie doesn’t think James would be a good father.  He tells Mikey  “I think being a good father is keeping the mother happy so she doesn’t drive the kids crazy.”  He’s right.  In our house it could probably be cut down to simply “Being a good father is keeping the mother from driving the kids crazy.”  My husband is a master at it. I can’t begin to count the number of times my he has walked into the room when I am doing something annoying  to my children(like popping a pimple for example) and said, “Dear! Would you leave that poor child alone?”  Or how many times when I’m stewing  about something of insignificance at one of the kids he looks at me and says, “Can we be over this soon?”  He has this gentle way of keeping me from going over the edge.  Of keeping our family happy and balanced. Of protecting his offspring from their sometimes crazy mother.  Yep.  My husband is a master.   A masterful dad.

I was hesitant to write this because I know he’ll disagree with it. He doesn’t think he’s anything special. I disagree with that. So do our children. He has no idea just how incredible he is. Because Father’s Day is fast approaching it seemed like a good time to talk about it.  Not because I like to brag about what a good man I married but because sometimes you just have to stop and reflect on the good things in your life.  He is definitely a one of the good things in our lives.

He would tell you that he isn’t perfect.  That’s a good thing.  Neither are his wife or children.  I can tell you he’s perfect for us. Probably because he loves us more than he loves himself. He spends more time looking after our needs than his own.  He will work until he almost drops to provide for his family. He will do whatever it takes to support us: financially and emotionally.  Until recently he worked two full time jobs: 85-90 hours a week. He didn’t do that because he enjoys working. He did it because it was what needed to be done at the time for us to be able to shed a few things and move forward.  Even working that much he still managed to find time to make it to almost all of our children’s activities: football games, weightlifting competitions, band and choir concerts, Christmas plays, award nights, etc. That usually happened at the expense of sleep, but he never complained. His children are that important to him. They now know that beyond any shadow of a doubt because he proved it by his actions.  They get it.

He would tell you he made some big mistakes.  I will tell you that he has been humble enough to admit his mistakes, learn from them and move forward.  He has taught our children that there is no mistake so big that you can’t come back from it just by the way he has lived in front of them.  No pretense.  No guise of being all knowing or perfect.  No inability to admit when he’s wrong. Just a guy learning and moving forward every day. What greater gift can you give your children than the freedom to be less than perfect? What better skill can we teach our kids than humility and the ability to pick yourself off, dust yourself off and start over again?

He would be the first to point out everything he does “wrong”.  I will be the first to point out everything he does “right”. He is connected to his kids.  He knows and cares what they are doing. He spends time with them, whether that means doing something special or just hanging out.  He listens to what they have to say. He’s proud of their accomplishments.  He will kick them in the fanny to motivate them when they need it.  He cheers for them. He comforts them. He teases them. He plays with them. He would lay down his life for them.  And he keeps their mother from making them crazy.

As I have mentioned (probably too much) my husband works out of town 4 days and then comes home for 4 days.  There is a sweet sense of balance that returns to our house when he comes home.  I can’t exactly explain it but I can tell you it’s there.   Since he’s taken his new job there has been no sweeter phrase in our house than this one:

“Dad’s Home!”  

4 responses to “Dad’s Home!

  1. This is a beautiful post! He sounds like an awesome husband and dad. I have to admit that I love the fact that you are the one “bugging” your children. Made me laugh. So where do the kids go for peace and quiet? lol.

Leave a Reply

