The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Heat Crazed

on July 6, 2012

Ahhhh! Summer in Nebraska. You never know what you are going to get or for how long you are going to get it.   We are at the end of a long stretch of heat advisories in our area.  I have so enjoyed seeing the following message on my phone each morning:

… HEAT ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT UNTIL 9 PM CDT FRIDAY…

* TEMPERATURE… HIGH TEMPERATURES WILL CLIMB TO AROUND 100 DEGREES EACH AFTERNOON WITH HIGHEST HEAT INDICES AROUND 105 DEGREES THROUGH FRIDAY. OVERNIGHT LOW TEMPERATURES SHOULD DROP TO AROUND 75.

* IMPACTS… THE COMBINATION OF HEAT AND HUMIDITY WILL BRING AN INCREASED RISK OF HEAT EXHAUSTION OR HEAT STROKE TO THOSE WORKING OR PLAYING OUTDOORS AND FOR THE VERY YOUNG AND ELDERLY.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS…

A HEAT ADVISORY MEANS THAT A PERIOD OF HOT TEMPERATURES IS EXPECTED. THE COMBINATION OF HOT TEMPERATURES AND HIGH HUMIDITY WILL COMBINE TO CREATE A SITUATION IN WHICH HEAT ILLNESSES ARE POSSIBLE. DRINK PLENTY OF FLUIDS… TAKE ADVANTAGE OF AIR CONDITIONING AND STAY OUT OF THE SUN. ALSO..CHECK ON YOUR RELATIVES AND NEIGHBORS.

I personally love the recommendation to take advantage of air conditioning.  I’m not sure if you are supposed to check on your relatives and neighbors to take advantage of their air conditioning or if they mean make sure they have actually have air conditioning. It seems a little unclear to me.  But then I’m a little heat crazed right now.  Everyone is.

Yesterday I had to run errands for work.  One of them meant I had to go to my least favorite store in town.  I get grumpy just walking in that store.  I also get grumpy from the headache high humidity heat gives me.  Not looking forward to being double grumpy I decided to go early in the morning thinking I would beat the crowd and the heat.  Technically you can’t beat the heat when it’s as oppressive as it’s been around here lately, you can only go when there is less heat. I refuse to say “when it’s cooler” because there is nothing cool about the weather lately.   I set off before the “real” heat set in thinking I was so intelligent.  Evidently everyone else was feeling intelligent yesterday morning as well.  The store was packed. And hot.  People were talking on their cell phones while they “parked” in the middle of the aisle I needed to go down.  Children were running and yelling or crying.  Clerks were cranky. Heat crazed.

Double grumpy set in by the time I headed out to my stuffy vehicle. Trying to leave the parking lot I managed to avoid two  near collisions.  When it’s hot it is too much effort to look behind you when you back out I guess. On my drive back to work  I dodged small children in bathing suits.  The new aqua center in town doesn’t even open until noon.  Maybe these children were running through the sprinkler?  The one in the street? I guess it’s too hot to watch your kids too.  As I moved along I discovered that drivers  were obviously more interested in adjusting their air conditioning than watching what they were doing.  Even a dog ran out in front of me.  Heat crazed.

As I settled back into my nice cool office I pulled up the weather on my computer.  I’m not sure why except I was hoping that the clouds I saw to the west were going to amount to something.  Here is what the forecast said:

A few scattered clouds in the area.  If you are fortunate enough to be under one of those clouds you may see a few sprinkles before it moves on by 11am.

You have to love meteorologists who took creative writing classes.  Or maybe whomever it was is heat crazed. Whichever it was it made me laugh for a moment.  It’s amazing what you find amusing when your brain is melting.  I did notice when I got in my vehicle to drive home that a few of those sprinkles had hit my windshield.  Just enough to make a spots that I had to clean off.  I guess the creative writer was correct even though I didn’t see the few sprinkles personally.  I was following the experts’ advice and taking advantage of the air conditioning at work. I don’t know if that makes me fortunate or heat crazed.

I decided on the way home that the children were going to have to be happy with a cold supper.  There is no way I’m turning on the stove in this heat. It turned out that my cooped up children didn’t mind. They too are tired of the temperature and have no desire to turn on any appliance that will make our advantageous air conditioning work harder.  I got no arguments from them. They too are heat crazed.

I texted my dear husband last night to see if he survived his day. He works at a power plant where there are several areas not air conditioned.  He has to check those areas every once in a while.  One is the ninth floor of the “tower.”  He reported to me that it was 118 on that floor (without humidity factored in) by 11am.  Thankfully he was able to avoid that area for the rest of the day.  He also reported he had a headache.  Wonder why?  Heat crazed.

This morning as I look out my windows at the already warming earth outside, I am thankful this is the last day of the extreme heat.  This week.  Temps should top out in the 80’s this weekend.  I’m looking forward to the break from the weather that makes me feel like a slug. I’m hoping my overheating brain will recharge a little.  I’m starting to get a little worried about my brain cells.  As I sent my customary morning text to my husband I had to stop it quickly as I realized that I had typed, “Good Morning Sweat Prince” instead of “Sweet Prince.”  Freudian slip or heat crazed?

Leave a Reply

