The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Like!

on July 11, 2012

I really do enjoy having teenage daughters.  While some days are hormonal purgatory less fun than others,  for the most part I enjoy spending time with them.  They help me be a balanced mother.  I assure them that being a teenage girl isn’t permanent.  They make me laugh. I make them roll their eyes.  They truly are growing into fine young women.  They are however still teenage girls.  I am reminded this every time they are trying to tell me about something that happened during their day.  They speak  LIKE teenagers, like.    The younger one in particular, like, cracks me up, like.

I was around when the Valley Girl thing became popular. I remember the birth of “Valspeak”, like, you know.  While I can honestly say I never actually uttered the words “gag me with a spoon” out loud, I was guilty of adding “like” to my vocabulary.  I was, like, a pro. When I got older I realized that sounding like an air head wasn’t as much as an attribute as I’d thought so I began to practice NOT saying like all the time. It gets easier the more you make the conscience effort to think before you speak.  My question now is whether I was, like, too late and, like, ruined my daughters, like, because I still use it too much or if, like, it just became part of, like, the culture.  I’d like to blame society, but if I am honest I have to admit that, like, I still throw it in there once in a while.   Not on purpose. Just out of habit.  Since one of my missions in life is to help my daughters be wiser than I was I have tried to help them not fall into the same LIKE abyss I once occupied.   The older one is getting there.  Her likes are limited.  The younger one…..well….a conversation with her usually goes something like this:

Daughter: “So my friend was like looking for her book and I was like ‘What are you doing?'”

Me: “You mean I asked her ‘what are you doing’.”

Daughter: “That’s what I said.”

Me: Sigh. “Go on.”

Daughter: “So everyone was like trying to help her.”

Me: “Like they were?”

Daughter: “Moooom!”

Me: “Sorry. Continue.”

Daughter: “So when we found it everyone was like so relieved.”

Me: “Because you like her?”

Daughter: rolling eyes and walking out of the room, “That’s like just the way we talk now Mom!”

Right. LIKE they invented it. The girl cracks me up.  But she will get it. Eventually.

A few weeks ago I was hiding ironing clothes in my room.  Because ironing is a mindless job I always flip on the mindless television for company while I perform the task.  I was watching “World’s Strictest Parents” on my DVR when our fourteen year old walked in to see what I was doing.  It is her and her older brother and sister’s fault that I watch that show.  Each of them told me that their father and I should be on it. I decided after the third one informed me of that I should check the show out to see what exactly they were trying to tell me.  They were right.  We operate like most of the “strict” parents on there, but I am digressing. As my daughter perched herself on the recliner in our room and started watching the show with me they began showing an interview with the teenage girl on the show.  Every other word out of the girl’s mouth was “like”.  My daughter’s eyes got big.  She looked at me, open-mouthed, and said, “Is that what I sound like??”  “Umm….” I said debating wheater or not to be diplomatic, “some times.”  She shook her head, “Why didn’t you TELL me??”  Really? She asked me that?  Does she have selective amnesia or does this just prove that she really doesn’t listen to what I’m saying?  “Well.” she continued, “I didn’t know how dumb that sounds.  I’m fixing that!”

Since that evening I have noticed that she has been more careful.  It sounds a little like this:

“So I was li…I mean I thought, ‘What difference does it make?’ so I asked her and she was li….she said, ‘It doesn’t.’ so we li….so we worked it out.”

Quite entertaining.  I’m proud of her for trying. I appreciate her efforts to implement proper English.  But the cynical mother in me thinks….

We’ll see, like, how long this, like, lasts.

8 responses to “Like!

  1. I like “liked” your post.

  2. I just nominated you for the Daisy Award. You can find this nomination here. http://theembiggensproject.wordpress.com/2012/07/11/the-daisy-award-nomination-woo-hoo/
    I hope you win!!

  3. PalomaSharma says:

    I’ve always secretly held the opinion that parenting, while sometimes a pain, is most generally an entertaining job. Now, you’ve proven me right. Thank you! Oh, and by the way, I’m a seventeen-year-old who happens to dis’like’ using abbreviations and incorrect grammar. I thought it would interest you to know that my parents had to teach me to use the word ‘like’. They were worried when I hadn’t learned it by age fourteen.

    • wedelmom says:

      Priceless! Thank you for sharing. Parenting is what you make of it, just like anything else. I find it highly entertaining most of the time. Can’t think of any other “job” in the world that I would prefer.

Leave a Reply

