The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

It Only Takes One Act Of Kindness

on July 12, 2012

Yesterday had the potential to wind up in the “rather bad day” category. I woke up tired and groggy (Note to self: this is why you shouldn’t take Advil PM) so I skipped my morning treadmill trot.  Then I felt guilty all morning.  Over my lunch hour my windshield was assaulted by a rather large rock flung from the tire of a rather large truck. (Note to self: find an alternate route home until they quit tearing up the side of that road.)  “Chip repair” is not an option.  Right before leaving work I handled a phone call from one of our seasoned saints who got rather irate at me when she found out I had discarded something from the bulletin board. It had been there for six weeks. She wanted a copy of it. I know because she told me that about 90 times. (Note to self: Check with her before you ever throw away another piece of paper no matter how old it is.)  There may be “12: All other tasks as assigned” in my job description, but I draw the line at dumpster diving.  By the time I got home I was a bit frazzled.  My sweet, sweet husband, knowing the kind of day I’d had, informed me that he was getting Chinese for dinner.  My day got less frazzled.  I love that man! Then I noticed that I had a comment on my blog.  Another blogger informed me that she had nominated me for “The Daisy Award.”  Wow! An award nomination.  I felt so honored even though I had no idea what it meant. My day suddenly got brighter.

After some research I discovered that “The Daisy Award” is basically a way to tell another blogger that you like their stuff. A way to give a “woo-hoo” to someone whose blog you enjoy.  When I began my little blogging adventure I expected only my family to read it.  I had no idea what I was doing or why I was doing it.  I still don’t have a clue but I’m sure having fun.  To have another person, one not related to me, give me a “shout out” was more than I ever would have expected. I’m grateful to facelikeafryingpan  for her act of kindness.  You helped turn my day around. Thank you!

There are rules for this nomination of course. 

1 – Thank the person who nominated you.

2 –  Tell your readers 7 unusual things about yourself.

3 – Nominate some worthy bloggers.

Though I already handled rule number one, thank you again to facelikeafryingpan  for thinking of me.  I encourage everyone I know to check out her blog “The Embiggens Project”. I check it every morning and I assure you it’s better than coffee. (That is a HIGH compliment coming from me)  Hysterical and a great way to start the day.

Seven unusual things about myself.  Hmmmm. Only seven?  That I haven’t already mentioned?  Ones that won’t scare anyone?  This could be a challenge but then I’ve never been one to back down from a challenge.  Here goes:

1. My daughters are both red heads.  My husband and I both have brown hair. Okay….HAD brown hair. What he has left is getting pretty salt and peppery looking.  I cover my “sparkles” so mine is whatever color my hair therapist thinks will look good.  Back to the point: our brown hair and their red hair has for years given us an opportunity to educate the world about recessive genes.  Did I mention my red-headed brother and sister don’t have red heads?  A couple of strawberry blonds and an auburn headed kid, but no fiery red heads.  Genes are funny.

2. Speaking of genes, I am the youngest of three.  My brother and sister are tall thin athletic red heads. I am a short squatty non-athletic brunette. Genes are mean sometimes too.

3. I have the arguably the ugliest toes known to man. My “pinky” toes have only half a toe nail. No idea why.  I cut a “v” in my big toenails.  Why? In-grown toenails.  It’s cheaper than surgery and it works.  Shopping for summer shoes is not on my list of favorite things to do. 

4. My oldest daughter says I am a laundry nazi.  While I find that a little harsh she is probably right.  I’m picky about the laundry and my washing machine. It isn’t that I don’t think anyone else can do laundry. They just don’t do it right.

5. While I’m on the subject of my housekeeping tendencies: I cannot leave dirty dishes in my sink.  Ever. For any amount of time.  Work with me: the dishwasher is 4 steps from the sink. How hard is it to put the dishes in there instead of piling them in my sink?

6. I love teddy bears.  This may have something to do with the fact that I was a mascot in high school. A purple bear to be exact.  Yes. I have destroyed every picture I have ever found of me in my purple bear suit.  Keep in mind there was no “head” to the costume.  Just a headband with little purple panda ears that went with the really fluffy purple panda bear costume. 

7. I am short. Correction: my legs are short. Sitting down I look perfectly normal height.  My husband is a foot and two inches taller than I but if you see a picture of us together sitting down you can’t tell there is that much of a difference.  If we are standing up you have to tilt the camera to get us both in the picture.  His in-seam is 36″. Mine is 26″.  This means I have to move my seat really close so that my short legs will reach the pedals of a car. If my airbag ever deploys I’m in trouble.

Now that I’ve scared everyone with unrequested trivia about myself it is time to complete step three. Here are (in no particular order) a few of my favorite bloggers to whom I am sending a Daisy Nomination:

momshieb : Her blog Post Depatum Depression is funny and real. Since I am more than aware that I too will be an “empty nester” long before I am prepared I appreciate her frankness in sharing her journey.

Slappshot.blog:  Love this man’s writing. Entertaining yet he always makes you stop and think about something. I highly recommend checking this blog out.

lifeinthe blueridges: Wonderful blog by a very talented young writer. I am glued to her stories about studying abroad this summer. 

maggiesonebuttkitchen: If you love food this is the place for you. YUM!  I appreciate people who are masters at what they love to do.

sarahmandl : This is one is dear to my heart because it is written by the woman who encouraged me to give writing a try.  She’s one of my very best friends and a total crack-up. (You have to be a little cracked to be my friend.)  She will either make you laugh or make you mad but either way she will make you think.  That’s her charm really.

I’d love to list all of the blogs that I follow because I really do enjoy them all, but it just isn’t practical.  I just hope that by highlighting a couple of them I may have brightened some one’s day today as mine was brightened yesterday.  You never know.

Some days it only takes one act of kindness to turn something around.

6 responses to “It Only Takes One Act Of Kindness

  1. I am so glad that your Daisy Award nomination helped cheer up an otherwise crappy day! I have to say, you are so much like me it’s scary. I am only five feet tall and my hubby is a foot taller than me (and I blame my stub legs). I have the ugliest toes in the world and my baby toe nail is almost non-existent and what I do have sticks straight up in the air. I am a redhead, but my mother is a blonde and my father has black hair. And, your pal, sarahmandl, is my other “twin that I never met”–a fellow Seinfeld fanatic with the same sense of humour. You both brighten up my day!! And thank you so much for mentioning my blog.

    • wedelmom says:

      That is a little spooky. Mine also stick up until I attack them with a heavy duty nail file. My favorite response to “How did you get red hair” came from our older daughter who at the age of four looked at someone and said, “Because that’s the color God thought would look good on me.” 😉
      I had no idea you followed sarahmandl until yesterday. She is the all time best! If you can believe it, she and her husband and my husband and I co-lead the children’s ministries at our church together for several years until they abandoned us for Memphis. As you can imagine it was a total HOOT. And it might explain why there are warped children in northeast Nebraska….. 😉
      Thanks again. I really do look forward to reading your blog every day. It’s one of the first things I do.

Leave a Reply

