The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

We Aren’t There Yet

on July 18, 2012

While traveling with my parents a few weeks ago my mother made the comment that she couldn’t imagine the “old” days when women had to cook over a wood stove in the heat. Did I mention that we were traveling across the sparsely populated Nebraska Sandhills and it was 102 outside at the time? That may have been what prompted her to think of it.  From the front seat my daddy speculated, “Do you suppose that is why women never smiled for pictures in those days?”  That may be one reason I suppose but I can think of several others right off the top of my head: living in a dirt soddy, no indoor plumbing, no electricity, had to make all your own clothes, had to make everyone’s clothes, washing all those clothes by hand, taking care of multiple children all day with no break, milking the cow, tending the garden, making your own soap, no instant food, dipping your own candles, hauling water, helping to butcher, churning butter, collecting eggs….all while wearing a corset and petticoats. I know why those women didn’t smile. Saying “say cheese” to them just reminded them of another chore they needed to do.  Wait. I guess that would be, “make cheese”. You get my point.  The thought of all the things those women had to do makes me want to go lie down somewhere. I’m too lazy to be a pioneer. I don’t like to sweat. I’d have been a mess had I been born in that era.   Thinking about it just proves to me that God is infinitely wise and His timing is perfect. I need that reminder every once in a while.

 We have adopted a new saying at our house: “We aren’t there yet.”  My husband came up with it.  It’s his sweet way of telling me to chill and quit stressing about the future.  The man is wise and patient and he knows me well. I have the tendency to get forty-nine steps ahead of the present.  I want the plan. If there isn’t a plan yet I want to make one. I want to know what is going to happen and when.  I don’t do well with, “Let’s wait and see what happens.”   I’m much better than I used to be.  I used to need the master plan with diagrams and time tables and sub points.  Now I just need a general game plan to keep me calm. It isn’t that I’m worried really. Okay it is, but I worry less than I used to. I’m willing to let some things just happen without my foreknowledge. That’s improvement right?

It isn’t that I haven’t tried to learn not to worry and plan. I have memorized Philippians  4:6  and Matthew 6:25-34 and can recite them to anyone without hesitation.  In fact I’m sure I have recited them to people who were worried about something. I just forget to recite them to myself sometimes. I forget that “everything” means “everything” in those verses. I forget that God has the Master plan and He never promised to give it to me. He doesn’t think I need it evidently. He thinks I need to learn to trust Him. That’s why He, in His infinite wisdom, gave me the husband He gave me.  The husband who worries less than I do.  The husband who takes things as they come. The man who doesn’t need a plan to function.  The guy who is a lot more spontaneous and way less uptight than his wife. The husband who can look at me and say, “Honey, we’ll deal with that when the time comes.  A hundred things could happen between now and then and probably will.”  (Did I mention SWEET husband?)  At this stage in our lives I need to hear that a lot. 

 I need to be reminded that I don’t need to search for houses in the town to which we will be moving yet.  I need to be reminded that I don’t need to look for a job there yet. I need to be reminded that I still have things to accomplish where I am.  I need to remember that God’s timing is perfect and He has a plan. I need to remember that he has a home and a job all picked out. I need to be reminded:

“We aren’t there yet.”

 

Leave a Reply

