The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Taking A Moment

on July 20, 2012

I had a post all ready to go this morning. It was light and silly and reflected my general good mood that the weekend is about to commence.  I clicked onto my computer this morning to post and saw two things that made me pause. The first was the story of the shootings that occurred overnight in Aurora, CO. The second was a Facebook post by my oldest son that he had gone to the midnight premier of the same movie in the town where he lives.  It made me stop and think. I wonder who else’s son went to a movie premier with his buddies last night and instead of seeing a Facebook post the next morning about how fun it was instead received a phone call that something had terrible had happened.  I wonder how something so seemingly normal as going to a movie can change the rest of your life. I wonder how often I stop and realize how very fortunate I am. I wonder how often I am not thankful enough for the things which I take for granted every day. 

My heart breaks for everyone affected by last night’s shooting. My heart breaks that things like this happen. Ever.   I can’t even imagine what I would do.  So today instead of posting a light and silly post I’m going to take a moment to think about the people in Aurora. I’m going to spend some time praying for them. I’m going to take a moment to be grateful for all the things that I take for granted every day. You never know when something is going to happen that could change that.  I’m going just going to take a moment.

Leave a Reply

