The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

I’ve Been Rescued!

on July 23, 2012

I have to admit that I am feeling less than inspired today.  Draggy in fact. I don’t know if it’s just a Monday thing, an “It’s the middle of the summer and I’m tired of it” thing or if the weather has melted all my brain cells together into one small-ish lump of “bleh”.  Did I mention uninspired?  Too uninspired to come up with anything to talk about today. How sad, but everyone needs a day off on occasion, right? Yeah…I don’t work that way. I decided in one last ditch effort to become inspired I’d log in and see what was going on in the blog world.  I noticed I had a comment.  What it really was is a life preserver.  A blogging award nomination from one of my favorite bloggers facelikeafryingpan over at The Embiggens Project. WHEW!  I have something to post today!

Actually, this is the third time my dear fellow neurotic short person with funny toenails has nominated me. The first time she made my whole day better.  The second time made me smile. (I have to admit I forgot to post about that one.) Today she saved me from “post-less depression”.  What a woman!  I may just add her to my Christmas gift list. In all seriousness,  check out her blog here for some of the funniest stuff I’ve ever read. I look forward to her posts every day.  Now that she’s saved me I’ll get down to business. I’m going to attempt to combine the one I forgot to do and today’s into one post. If that’s cheating, sorry, but it’s my blog and I can cheat if I want to. (Yep! I do know what song is now running through your head.)  Here are the aforementioned awards and their rules:

The Sunshine Award

1. Link the award to the person who gave it to me.

2. Answer the questions about myself. (See below)

3. Nominate 10 bloggers for the award.

4. Link my nominees to the post and comment on their blog, letting them know about the award.

 The Versatile Blogger

                            1. Thank the blogger who gave it to you and include a link to their blog.

                            2. Mention 7 random things about yourself.

                           3. List the rules

                           4. Give the award to 15 or more bloggers.

                            5. Add the award to your blog

Step one is the same for both, so, again, thank you facelikeafryingpan for your kind words and today’s life preserver!

Sunshine questions (this ought to be fun):

1.  What is my favorite number?  867-5309   (Yep! I know what song is going though your head NOW too.)

2. Favorite Non-Alcoholic Beverage?  Pre-ability to distinguish colors when I first wake up: coffee.  After noon because I’m getting too old to have caffeine “late” in the day:  water.

3. Favorite Animal?  I suppose it wouldn’t be right to mention my children here. Hmmm….this is tough.  Living variety I’ll go with dogs.  Stuffed or pictures variety I’d have to say bears.  Any kind of bear.

3.  Facebook or Twitter?  Yes.  Oh. Sorry.  For stalking you can’t beat twitter, but I’m more of a Facebook girl probably because Words With Friends blows up my phone so I can only play it on Facebook.

4. My Passion? That’s a pretty big question. I have several but I’d have to say the one which take priority above all others is my family and being the wife and mother, the woman, that God has called me to be.

5. Favorite Day of the Week?  Any day my alarm doesn’t go off.

6.  Favorite Flower?  Also a tough one because I really love flowers.  Ok….cut in a vase? Carnations. Or sweetheart roses.  Or both.  In my flower garden? Gerba Daisies and New Guinea Impatiens. Well….or….zinnias because my grandpa used to plant them.

Versatile’s 7 Random Things About Me:

1.  My ten year old can now look me straight in the eye. Guess he got his 6’4″ father’s height. He’d be the only one of our four kids who did.

2. I can’t sleep without something covering me.  I blame my mother who to this day runs around and throws blankets on anyone taking a nap in her home.

3. My husband swears I have bat vision. I can get up, go to the bathroom and get back in bed in the middle of the night without turning on a light or running in to anything. What he doesn’t realize is that is the main reason I make sure everything is put away before I go to bed.  Put something in my path and it’s going to be bad.  (He also doesn’t realize that half the time I’m not really even awake.)

4. While we’re on the subject, I can’t go to bed with clothes unfolded in the dryer or clean dishes sitting in the dishwasher. OCD? Probably.

5. Birds freak me out a little.  It might have something to do with barn swallows dive bombing us in the barns when I was growing up.  Love them from a distance but if they get too close my breathing gets funny.

6. I have a tendency to become addicted to television shows really quickly. Is that a sign of an addictive personality? Kind of glad there were a number of things I didn’t try as a teenager.

7. I don’t own a bathroom scale.  I decided several years ago that I wasn’t going to let a number determine my value as a person.  Then I lost 50 pounds. (My doctor still has a scale…unfortunately.)

Ok – I’m going to condense my nominees a little.  If you add them together I’m sure we’ll get to ten and fifteen.  There would just be some repeating.  Cheating? Only a little.

Sunshine Nominees:

Your Soul To Keep:  I just started following this blog and already I love it. Inspiring and practical. I want to be this woman when (if??) I ever grow up.(Yes. She’s most likely pretty close to my age.  She’s just WAY MORE grown up than I!)

My Men And Me: Super mom of three boys who will make you laugh and make you think.

Motherhood Is An Art: Again a recent add to my reader but I love this mother’s frankness, humor and her heart for her kids.

How’s Your Love Life:  I love the way this writer makes Truth seem so simple.

Looking For The Sweet Spot: Love this woman’s look on life. I especially love her “Today’s Best Moment” posts.  I like that. What was today’s best moment?

Maggie’s One Butt Kitchen: This woman is truly and artist in her kitchen…and she shares her secrets.  Love that!

A Detailed House:   I love to see people who are truly gifted at what they do. Beautiful pictures and great ideas for home decorating.

kaiyasworld:  I love reading what mommies who love being mommies have to say. Sweet blog that makes me smile.

Now Adding Some Versatile Nominations:

sarahmandl:  Aside from the fact that this is written by one of my very dearest friends I would like this blog anyway. You never know what she’s going to come up with. Just like in person. 🙂

Jill Of All Trades: Another blog where you are never quite sure what she’s going to do in each post.  The one thing you can be sure of is that you will laugh.

Texana’s Kitchen: Delicious and funny –  great combination.  Her “How to Eat Ice Cream With Your Whole Body” is an all-time favorite.

Bucket List Publications: I will never live an adventurous life but I love reading about this one.  I have been inspired to start my own bucket list because of this blog.  Mine just doesn’t include anything that hurdles me through the air.

Life In The Blue Ridges:  A talented young writer who is currently studying in Ireland. Great writing and a taking a trip vicariously. Can’t beat that.

Slappshot: Another one I look forward to daily.  Great stories – Great Dad.

Post Departum Depression:  This woman makes empty nesting funny.

idiot-prufs: Again a newer follow for me but I’ve found it to be FUNNY!

Whew!  I’m honored and still brain-dead.  Hopefully tomorrow I will wake up refreshed and full of creative thoughts to share.  If not perhaps I’ll just start soliciting awards.  Or not….

3 responses to “I’ve Been Rescued!

  1. Wow….Thank you so much for mentioning me! I really appreciate it!

  2. Janelle says:

    Thank you! I enjoy your blog very much.

Leave a Reply

