The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Beauty Of Life Long Friends

on July 24, 2012

Today started out to be a pretty good day. I was feeling good. My husband is returning home tonight,I was happy and things were looking mighty fine.  And then it changed. Life does that sometimes. It throws you a curve ball. I usually can handle a curve ball but today it was too much.  The last thing in a string of things. None of them big things. Just things. Too many things.  I was done.  Thankfully I have an understanding boss who was more to give me some personal time this afternoon. (Besides who wants a secretary who’s mascara is running. Scary!)  So I came home intending to gather my thoughts, pray and work through some things. Get myself back on track.  quiet time. What I ended up doing was calling a friend. It’s the best thing I could have done.

Some days you just need to talk to someone who understands you. Who isn’t afraid to tell you the truth. Who will give you her honest opinion. Who loves you no matter what. Who makes you laugh. Who makes you cry. Someone who has invested a lot of time in your friendship and shows no signs of stopping. A long time friend. A loyal friend. A friend who gives as well as she receives.  I have a few of them and I never appreciated how rare they are until today. It seems like a good time to tell them.

It is unfathomable to me that these ladies have stuck with me through thick and thin.  Through some really black times in my life.  It’s easy to be a friend to someone whose life is going well. They’re happy and fun.  It takes special people to be your friend when life is on its head. I’ve been blessed with some pretty special people.

One is my sister. The woman who I used to fight with. The one whose clothes I used to steal.  The one I used to think didn’t like me.  She doesn’t like me. She loves me. I love her back. We just didn’t know that until we got older. Well….we knew it somewhere deep down. Really deep down.  She’s an amazing woman who loves with her entire being and has faith for me when I have none.  She’s my sister. She’s also my friend.

The next became my best friend in Junior High school. We survived the competitive, silly, often tear filled world of teenage girls. (Did I mention silly?) We stuck with each other through liking the same guy. Turns out he didn’t like either of us. We stayed friends in college.  She introduced me to my husband. We got older and lived in different states. Though we didn’t talk as often we both knew that all we had to do was pick up the phone and the other one was going to be there.  We’d pick up where we left off.  Our friendship is great like that. It just keeps growing.

The friend I called today became my friend when I first started attending the church where I work. We hit it off. Our husbands hit it off. Our daughters hit it off. We loved spending time as families.  We worked together and played together. We ate a lot of pizza together. She and I drank a lot of coffee together. She challenged me. She encouraged me. She made me look at things from different angles. She pushed me to see things about myself I would never have seen.  Then she moved away.  I thought I would die. I haven’t. I discovered that while she isn’t near enough to have a cup of coffee or pizza, she’s still one of my best friends.  She is where she needs to be and I am where I need to be.  I hate that those two places are far apart but I love that it hasn’t changed a thing.  She’s still one of my very best friends.

These woman have helped make me who I am today. They’ve made me a better person. I hope that I have been as good for them as they have for me. I hope that I am there for them when they need me. No matter what. Like my friend was there for me today. Like all three of  my beautiful long time friends are there for me every day.  I am blessed.

2 responses to “The Beauty Of Life Long Friends

  1. ~Rose says:

    I so understand what you’re saying Paula!!! I have two “old” friends who are way too far away but right at the other end of the telephone and “know” me well. I have two other friends who live much closer and they are also “there” for me as I am for them whenever…………. They are so precious and I thank God for them…… not as often as I should but you know how that goes. So appreciate YOU, Paula, and have watched you handle yourself and your family, with God’s help of course, but with much love and wisdom. Love you!!!

Leave a Reply

