The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

What A Lovely Day!

on August 6, 2012

Just when I was contemplating the fate and future of my blog I was sent  a nomination for the “One Lovely Blog” award.  I’ve never been called lovely in my life.  I feel so special now.  Think about it: it’s a great word. “Lovely.”  It just sounds so …well….lovely.  Thanks facelikeafryingpan – you are lovely too! I encourage everyone to check out her blog “The Embiggens Project” which is seriously one of my all time favorite parts of the day. Hilarious. Quirky. Too much fun and we all need an injection of fun in our lives now don’t we? 

Evidently one of the requirements for this award is to reveal 7 random things about myself.  I’m starting to get concerned that someone is going to find all the posts I’ve made about random things and I’m going to become a living example for abnormal psychology classes worldwide, but here goes:

1. According to my family I sit ridiculously straight  when I drive.  Personally I’d like to  think I just have better posture than they do but the truth is that is that sitting that straight is the only way I can see over the hood.  Well that and the fact that I don’t like to recline. Even in a recliner I sit straight.  Why?  Because if I recline my feet dangle.

2. My middle name is “Jean” after my father.  That’s correct: my father’s name is Jean and isn’t pronounced the way french speaking people pronounce it.  It’s pronounced the way the female version of the name is pronounced in America. We have no idea why my grandmother did that but she was a phenomenal lady so I’m willing to give her the benefit of the doubt.  Besides it’s really fun way to confuse telemarketers.

3. I’m a fourth generation Nebraskan and have given birth to 4 fifth generation Nebraskans.  Yes. That is kind of pathetic.

4. I have this really annoying natural wave to my hair. No, not curl. Wave.  Like cowlicks everywhere but not quite.  I passed this on to my kids which is why my boys keep buzz cuts and my girls spend so much time wearing out hair straighteners.

5. My nose was broken in a school bus accident when I was in third grade.  I blame that for its stubby, flat, fat appearance.  On a brighter note my hometown still calls snow days faster than anyone else in the area because of that accident.  You’re welcome children. I’m glad to have sacrificed my nose for you.

6. The sight of blood, even on television,  makes me incredibly queasy unless it is coming out of one of my children. At that point I go into “Mom mode” take care of it and get sick later.  This would be why I never became a nurse.

7.  I have come to the conclusion that I  look at EVERYTHING from a different angle than everyone else.  It isn’t that I love playing the “devil’s advocate” (I hate that name by the way) I just think there are multiple ways to look at most things.  Mine must be the rare one.  One of my contemplations this week was naming my blog “THe View From A Different Angle”…..but than that just seems odd.  Or maybe not. Maybe just honest. Let me know what you think.

Now that the randomness is done I’ll get on with nominating some bloggers for this Lovely award.

The Way Everlasting – I was recently directed to this blog by a friend and it has quickly become one of my favorites.  An honest approach to Christianity from a real person.  Refreshing!

My Men And Me – Another that I am quickly becoming quite fond of.  Straightforward thoughts from a Christian mother of three boys.  This one challenges me and makes me smile.

Motherhood Is An Art – Aside from having like the best name EVER this is one sweet blog.  Great writing by a passionate mom.  Love it!

Bucket List Publications – Since I live a rather boring life (see #3 above) I look forward to reading this one.  If I can’t have a life at least I can read about one!   Who knows.  She may just inspire me to make my own bucket list some day!

Life In The Blue Ridges –  Such a talented young writer.  I love her stuff!

The Bumble Files – Recently found this one and already love this.  Great thoughts and lots of fun!

Your Soul To Keep – I want to grow up and be as cool as this woman.  Wise, Wise Wise!!

Jill Of All Trades, Expert Of None – This one just makes me laugh.

I’m probably supposed to do more here, but I decided to focus on the ones that truly do spring to mind when I hear “Lovely”.  It’s such a lovely word.

2 responses to “What A Lovely Day!

  1. Thank you so much for nominating me again!! My mission today is going to be able to figure out how to apply these to my page and nominate others!! I’m so technology challenged I find it amazing when I get my blog posted every time!!! You are an amazing woman and have an amazing blog!

    • wedelmom says:

      You are most welcome! I truly enjoy your blog. I have confidence in you figuring it out. I’ve read about you. You are an amazing woman yourself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

