The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Walking The Talk

on August 14, 2012

One of my all time largest pet peeves in life are those cute little one-liners that people throw out to one because we think they sound good.  Christians are especially bad at it.  We know the right things to say for each situation, it just doesn’t really mean anything a lot of the time.  It’s a ‘I have to say something here so I’ll just say this’ sort of thing.  “I’ll be praying for you.”  Really? Like now or were you planning to do that later? “What would Jesus do?” (wish I’d have thought of that one by the way.) Ummm….Jesus wouldn’t have gotten Himself into this mess.  This is an all time classic: “God won’t give you more than you can handle.” Really? Because if I could handle it I wouldn’t need Him now would I?  I didn’t realize how many of these we throw around until a lady showed up in the church office in the middle of a crisis.  She told me her friends had been advising her, “Just give the problem to God.” (another classic “Christian” one-liner.) She looked at me, through tears, and said, “I don’t even know what that means.”  How could she know what that meant? I’m guessing her friends don’t know what it means either but boy it sure sounds good when someone is crying and you don’t know what else to say.

I’ll admit that I have been guilty of doing the very same thing that drives me crazy.  I will on occasion throw something meaningless out there just because it sounds like the right thing to say at the time.  I hate it when I do that.  I’m tired of just giving lip-service to things. I’m tired of knowing the correct response but not putting anything into practice.  My goal of late is to become more “real” and less “perfect”.   I’d rather people see me for who I really am than some plastic version of me that I’d like them to see.  Are they always going to like it? No.  But I can live with that.  I have purposed to say only the things that I mean and walk out the things that I say.  Of course once you make that statement something comes along to show you that it’s easier to purpose to do something than it is to really do it.

I’m a planner.  I like a plan.  I’m much better at handling people messing with my plan than I used to be but I still am really fond of having a plan.  Our family is currently transitioning – slowly – from one town to another in the next year. I have a general plan in mind. This is honestly one of the weirdest times of my life.  Most people just move and go on.  We know we are going to move but it isn’t time yet. Like I said: “weird”.  I have said from the beginning of our transition, “I want to do this the way God wants us to do it.  He will open the correct doors for us as we get to them. I want to follow His plan.”  Now that is the correct “Christian” thing to say isn’t it? Sounds good doesn’t it?   Felt good too until He threw out a curve ball. He put something in front of me last week that doesn’t fit into the general transition plan I had in mind.  I quickly figured out that I had again been saying something that had very little meaning behind it.  My conversation with Him went a little like this:

“Lord why would this come up? It isn’t time for this yet.”

“Do you trust me?”

“Of course I do but this doesn’t make sense.”

 “Just do what I told you to do.  Let Me worry about the rest of it.”

“I don’t think you got the memo about the plan.  This doesn’t fit into the plan.”

“To whose plan were you referring?”

“Ouch!”

In that moment I realized that it’s easy for me to want to do things “God’s way” when I thought His way lined up with what I was thinking.  What I didn’t stop to think about is that I should be lining up to what He was planning.  I should be looking for the doors that He is opening instead of focusing on the ones I want or expect Him to open.  I can say that I want to do things His way until I’m purple in my face but until I take the step He asked me to take….well….until I do that I’m just not walking the talk am I?  I’m just giving things lip-service.  I’m throwing out one-liners. Since I can’t stand that in others I guess I better take care of it in me.  I guess I’d better be strapping on my walking shoes now.  My mouth needs the rest.

4 responses to “Walking The Talk

  1. Janelle says:

    Oh so true. Those unplanned for challenges! This is where faith meets real life, yes?!

  2. I enjoyed your bit about the one liners. I think a lot of the time, people just don’t what to say. It’s hard to be comforting. I do it, too, I’m sure. Best of luck with your transition!

    • wedelmom says:

      I totally agree. One-liners are usually born out of wanting to be comforting and just not knowing what to say. I think everyone does it sometimes. I’m just trying to do it less and back it up more. 😉
      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

