The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

She Really Is Paying Attention

on August 27, 2012

I love this picture.  Love the ideal that it portrays.  A dutiful mother teaching her daughter all the things she is going to need to know when she grows up.  It’s lovely.  It also has no relation to my life what so ever.  First of all I don’t think I even own an apron and even if I did I wouldn’t look that good in it. I do know I would never let anyone snap a picture of me if my hair looked like that. Beyond that, I have often felt like I haven’t done a very good job purposefully teaching my daughters.  It might have something to do with the fact that I feel like my girls roll their eyes at me and don’t pay attention when I speak half the time. (Ok – a quarter of the time.) Or it might have something to do with the fact that my life resembled something a little more like this:

Whatever the reason it’s amazing how once in a while something happens to show you that you aren’t as far off course as you’d thought.

Saturdays are “Catch-up clean up” days at our house for the most part.  If we don’t have commitments anywhere else we generally spend Saturdays working together as a family to get things done around the house. This Saturday was no exception.  On top of the usual stuff it was “last Saturday of the month I better be able to see the carpet in your room when I come up there” day. After our regular Saturday clean-up tasks were done the kids began shoveling out their rooms.  I began the laundry (I had NO IDEA my girls owned that many shirts) and started working in the kitchen.  As I was sticking a cake in the oven our oldest daughter, who turns 18 this coming Friday, walked in the kitchen to inform me that her room was clean and wanting to know if I was going to have time to finish off some lessons with her.

This summer I’ve had the privilege of working with her on “Girl’s Only” materials.  Girl’s Only is a discipleship club aimed at high school age girls that was offered through our church.  Unfortunately the woman who had been working with our daughter the past three years was unable to finish it off with her so in order to complete the lessons “Mom” had to step in to help.  We’ve had a lot of fun and some of the discussions have been really good.  We’ve covered material ranging from what we believe to be Truth and how to  handle peer pressure to personal appearance and preparing for college.  Although it’s taken a chunk of my time I am so glad I’ve had the opportunity to do this with her.  I don’t know that I would have purposefully set aside the time to talk through some of it with her otherwise.

I swiftly calculated the tasks I had left to accomplish and how long they would take and told her that I thought I was have time as soon as I got a few more things done.  She stood in the kitchen and watched as I began browning hamburger while I took some chicken I had cooked the night before off of the bone.  “What are you making?” she asked. “Well they had chicken on sale yesterday so I cooked it last night. Once I get it all off of the bone I am going to freeze it in 2 cup bags so I have it for casseroles and soup and stuff like that later on.”  “Oh.”  She stood and watched while we chatted a little. Then she asked “So….what’s the hamburger for?”  I explained, “I’m going to make Runzas with part of it as soon as I’m done with the chicken.”  “Oh.” she said,  “Is that what we’re having for dinner tonight?”   “No.” I replied. “I’m freezing those for later this week when everyone is running on a different schedule and we have to eat a different times.  We’re having tacos tonight.”  She looked at me funny, “So you are browning the taco meat now?”  “No.” I said, “The hamburger for the tacos is in the refrigerator.  I bought hamburger in bulk yesterday so I’m browning the rest of this to freeze already done for things like homemade pizza and spaghetti sauce. I’ll make some of it into hamburger patties and then freeze the rest in 2 pound packages.”  Her eyes got big. “Oh.  Do you do this all the time?”  I grinned at her, “Not all the time but the more I can get done ahead of time when I do have extra time the easier it is for me during the weekdays when I don’t have as much time.”  She smiled at me and said, “Don’t tell anyone, but you’re kinda smart Mom.””  “Nah.” I said, “I’ve just been doing this a long time.”  She helped me finish my kitchen tasks while running back and forth to switch loads of laundry. Productive day at our home.

As we sat down later that afternoon to begin working on her Girl’s Only material I asked her what the next two units were.  She started laughing. “Time Management and Home Management.  Do you think we’ve already covered that today?”  I looked at her and smiled.  She might as well have handed me a crown. Perhaps she has been paying attention all along.

6 responses to “She Really Is Paying Attention

  1. I love this! And to think, if she hadn’t asked, she would have simply thought you were making dinner. I would like to hear more about the Girls Only materials, is this something that is available through church or online?

  2. Awwww…See!!! Exactly what we have been chit chatting back and forth about!!! You do have things under control!!! Awesome…you absolutely do deserve a crown!!

  3. How real and sweet and encouraging! I do believe that our kids pick up more by seeing who we are and what we do rather than what we say. Not sure whether that encourages or discourages me! Encourages I think!

    • wedelmom says:

      Whether it encourages or discourages me depends on the day. I have actually told my kids to do as I say not as I do – jokingly of course. It’s a challenge, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

