The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

What Day is It???

on September 4, 2012

I’m beginning to fear that I really do have brain damage today.  Or is that drain bramage? For the life of me I cannot seem to figure out what day today is.  Feels like a Monday, but yesterday was Monday right? I think it was Monday.  It didn’t feel like Monday but I’m pretty sure it was. I think. I knew I was in trouble first thing this morning as I pulled my groggy self out of bed and wondered why my girls weren’t up yet.  They have early band practice on Monday, Wednesday and Fridays and are usually getting up the same time I am on those days.  As I was contemplating a run up the stairs to wake them and tell them they were going to be late, it occurred to me: Today is TUESDAY.  They don’t have early practice. You’d think I could remember that. The automated phone system from the school called me last night to remind me of that. TWICE. (Automated phone systems – there’s a blog for another day. Don’t even get me started….)

Shaking off my early morning brain fog, I ran through my morning routine and went out to pull some pork ribs from the freezer in the garage.  It is supposed to be hot today so those will taste good grilled tonight for supper.  As I got to the kitchen I suddenly remembered: It’s TUESDAY.  Our son has football practice from 5:30-7:00 and the girls have musical practice from 6:30-9:00.  It’s an “eat in shifts” day – not a family dinner night.  Oops!  Back out to the garage to pull out something else that re-heats better or can be cooked in “shifts”.  

Arriving at work I attacked my usual Monday morning piles.  Halfway through I see that the bookkeeper has been through and has Tuesday morning stuff in my box!  Why is she a day ahead?  Oh right.  It’s TUESDAY. I’ve had to remind myself that all day.  “Must get Monday and Tuesday’s work done today because it’s TUESDAY….must get Monday and Tuesday’s work done….”  It’s been one of the longest mornings of my life.  Slow moving clock. Feeling brain groggy.  Sure feels like a Monday but no: It’s TUESDAY.

And this my friends is my problem with three day weekends.  Don’t get me wrong: I love three day weekends.  I’d like to have them every week if we could.  I would just prefer to not have Monday off.  It’s kind of like having two Mondays that week: the real day and the day that feels like Monday all day.  Wouldn’t it be much better to have Friday off for a holiday rather than Monday?  Think about it. That’s like having two Fridays in a week rather than having two Mondays. Hello? How could that be bad??  Who’s with me?  I’m thinking about petitioning the government to move all Monday holidays to Fridays instead.  That would be WAY better. Oh wait.  Knowing me I’d get up Saturday morning to go to church if I was off all day Friday.  Maybe that wouldn’t work either.

Here is what I’ve figured out: I’m a creature of habit and if you mess up my routine I’m totally lost for a day.  I scare myself. Seriously. To add to my concern I’m taking off tomorrow to attend a funeral out of town.  I should be really good messed up by Thursday morning.  I think it’ll be Thursday morning when I come back to work.  Or will it be Wednesday in my head all day? Or Tuesday since it’ll only be the second day I’ll work this week?  Now I’m really messing myself up so perhaps I should stop over thinking it.  Yeah. I will just quit worrying about it and  only get scared when I forget what planet I am on.  Or what my name is. That’s something to really worry about.  Whew! I feel better now.  Maybe I’m not as messed up as I thought.  

Have a Happy Monuesday everyone!

 

One response to “What Day is It???

  1. haha!!! So funny and true!!

Leave a Reply

