The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Today’s Quick Observations

on September 18, 2012

Today has been one of those days. Not bad really just one of those days when you can feel what is left of your brain slipping out of your ears by the time that you arrive home from work.  Because I scare myself when I get to this point I am not going to try to put together anything coherent today. Instead I will just delight everyone with the random observations from my day.

  • There needs to be some sort of force field in a vehicle that shuts down all phone function.  That way I won’t have to wait at a light while the teenager in front of me finished whatever it is she was doing. In her defense – GOLD STAR for not texting a driving.
  • Teenage drivers are scary.  I am glad I don’t see my own children and their behavior around the high school.
  • No kid in high school needs a truck with dual wheels. The curbs in the parking lot can’t take it.  By the way – nice dual exhaust too. I’m impressed.
  • Have you ever noticed that there are some cars you drive up behind and automatically know how old the driver is without having to see them.  Beat up Corsica that likes to lane flip? 16. Really nice Cadillac going 25? 116.
  • The amount of energy your child has in the morning is directly correlated to the lack of sleep you got the night before.
  • The closer we get to the elections the more people I have to hide from my Facebook feed.  Why be agitated over a social network?
  • Directly related to above: there are some really angry people running around.  I feel bad for them. I just don’t want to read their rantings.
  • People really don’t want your opinion, they just want you to agree with them.
  • When you are in a rush to get out of the grocery store you always end up with the slowest checker on the planet.  He’s a nice guy though so I just smile and chat with him.  Wait.  Maybe that makes him slower….
  • I really wish there was a pill that I could take so that I could read people’s minds. It would make my job so much easier.  Of course it would probably hurt my feelings too.
  • Meetings that last longer than two hours and go over my lunch break should be required to include snacks.
  • When you over sleep and then have to exercise after a really long meeting-filled day it seems like the time is twice as long.  Note to self: don’t ever do that again.
  • There are some days that leftovers are a blessing.
  • Teenage girls come to life about the time that their mother hits “the wall”.  They still can’t, however, seem to sweep the kitchen floor. They can, however, make her laugh hysterically over the dumbest things.  They like that so it becomes their goal.

That’s all I have for today.  I am off to count the minutes until bedtime!

3 responses to “Today’s Quick Observations

  1. sarahlmandl says:

    Sorry about all the political ranting on Facebook today. The one time I let loose…

    • wedelmom says:

      You political ranted on Facebook? I must have missed that. I’ll have to go stalk your page now. 😉
      I was referring to a few people who spend all day every day putting up political cartoons or posting all sorts of inflammatory pictures with sayings or open ended questions meant to start people arguing. (and one person who has a vendetta against public schools). Those are the people who were trying to overtake my news feed and have now been hidden. You are good my friend – and definitely still visible. 😉

Leave a Reply

