The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

I See Angry People

on October 10, 2012

Is it just me or does it seem like there are more and more angry people walking around?  I realize that people have been angry from the beginning of time but it just seems that per capita there are more of them lately.  Maybe it’s just because it’s an election year.  Perhaps it’s because social media makes us think we can say whatever we want whenever we want and no one can be hurt by it.  Perhaps it’s because we have all played one to many games of angry birds.  I’m not sure why people seem so cranky lately but it’s starting to become disturbing.

I was at the store the other day when I first noticed that people seemed grumpier than normal.  Now I am the first to admit the shopping for groceries is enough to make one cranky.  I’ve often said that I don’t mind the shopping so much.  It’s the checking out and paying for it that stinks.  That being said I understand that people are less than happy while picking up their over-priced produce but I have never seen it as bad as it was the other day.  I witnessed for the first time in my life “shopping cart road rage.”  I guess that should be “aisle rage.”  Whatever it is called it is the strangest thing in the world to see.  Shopper #1 was apparently in a hurry and Shopper #2 was blocking her from what she wanted on the shelf.  As I picked up my items from the shelves across the aisle I heard sighing.  Then mumbling.  Then – I kid you not – swearing.  Seriously? Who swears at a little old lady for not picking out her soup fast enough?  Shopper #1 does.  She didn’t stop there.  After hurling expletives she grabbed shopper #2’s cart moved it out of her way and said, “I’m in a hurry.”  Really? I thought you were just raised by wolves and that can of cream of mushroom you were stalking was about to run away.  I smiled at poor little Shopper #2 and shrugged. She looked at me and said, “Some people are just rude.”  ‘Yep’, I thought, ‘rude and angry.’ By the time I finished my shopping and had encountered several other less than cheerful shoppers I was feeling pretty lucky to get out of the store without being punched.  Shopping is a contact sport some days.   Maybe it was just a bad day?  I don’t think so.  I think it’s a trend.

This morning I saw that “Dancing With The Stars” was toward the top of my trending feed.  I am a “DWTS” junkie: I love this show.  There. I admitted it. They say the first step of addiction is admitting you have a problem, right?  This may well be my first step to overcoming my need for rhinestones and glitter and all things “Dancing”.  My husband would be releved.  He could have his television back for Monday Night Football.  Let me rephrase: he could have the BIG television back for MNF.   Sorry….I digressed again.  (Hope that didn’t make you angry.) Because I enjoy the show I clicked on a few articles to see what they were “buzzing” about.  As I suspected they were buzzing about one of the contestants who didn’t get eliminated last night and the two who did.  I was kind of expecting that.  What I wasn’t expecting was the vitriol being spewed in the comments of those articles.  I didn’t realize that people were so passionate about this show or its contestants. Or the contestants’ mothers.  I decided to dig a little deeper so I went to a message board on the show’s website.  What I saw made me cringe.  It also made me sad.  When did it become okay to say terrible things about people you don’t even know?  When did we decide that by seeing someone on television for a few minutes and reading some slop in a gossip magazine we became experts on other people?  When did we get to the place where we feel we can say anything we want about anyone we want and then try to destroy anyone who disagrees with us?  When did people get so angry?  I don’t mind people voicing an opinion on the show or the way someone performed but to attack a person about everything in their life is sad and doesn’t speak much to where we are headed as a society.  This, after all, is just a show.  I love to watch it but I can’t imagine spending that much time obsessing or being angry about it.  It’s supposed to be entertaining.     People need to take a step back , calm down, and put things in perspective.  If we can get this nasty over a television show it scares me to think where we are going next.

So why did today’s reading of a message board make me think of my recent shopping experience? It just struck me that there are a lot of angry people on the loose out there. People who will move you out of their way. People who will say terrible things about someone just because they think they can.   It makes me kind of sad.  Life is too short to snarl – particularly at people you don’t even know.  Time spent being angry over silly things is time and energy wasted.  Angry people have never made the world a better place. Perhaps it’s time we all just calm down a little bit.

4 responses to “I See Angry People

  1. themommyquad says:

    I have noticed this too. And I also love DWTS, sad to say. Thanks for an enlightening post!

  2. I agree completely. Way too many people are sweating the small stuff. I think people are, for the most part, dissatisfied with life and empty inside. I guess it is our duty as happy, smiley people to set a good example. It’s hard to be rude to someone who smiles.

    • wedelmom says:

      I agree with your assesment one hundred percent: empty dissatisfied people. Guess it’s just a reminder (or challenge) to smile at people more and remain positive. Someone has to do it – might as well be us crazy ones! 🙂

Leave a Reply

