The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

A Teetering Kind Of Day

on October 17, 2012

It’s cold and windy and gray in Nebraska today. (Well – my part of Nebraska anyway.) Kind of matches my mood. I woke up this morning tired and sad.  We’ve been running around like crazy people for the last 4 days and today is the first day back to normal.  (Normal being figurative here.)  Our college boy headed home this morning and my husband is off for another stretch of work.  The house is emptier and quieter and my mood is teetering on down right depressed.  It isn’t like I didn’t know this was going to happen today. I’ve been well aware that time was going by fast and that I needed to savor the moments of everyone being home.  I did that (which may explain why I’m so tired today) but I am still unsatisfied with how fast the time went and how long it’ll be until we get to do it again.  Yep – I’m teetering today.  Until I remember yesterday.

Yesterday dawned sunny and beautiful.  I should know. We were all up early so that we could drive to the place where we were having family pictures taken.  Since our oldest daughter needed to have her senior pictures done we decided to take the opportunity to have a new family picture taken at the same time.  Seemed logical at the time because our photographer is one of my long time friends who lives a little over an hour away from us.  Might as well combine trips – right?  The day started off a little bumpy: the only person truly excited at the prospect of pictures was our photogenic senior.  The boys were a bit slow moving.  The youngest one is getting over a cold that makes him cough up junk – hard. After a little prodding and a turn-around right outside of town to go home to clean up some “junk” off the youngest one – we were off.  Forty-five minutes later than we’d planned to be.  It’s a good thing the photographer is my friend.  A good and understanding friend.  She wasn’t upset and told us to drive carefully.  She has kids too so she totally gets it.  The longer we were rolling the more the children woke up and started acting like, well, my kids.  Teasing and laughing and generally being smart alecs.  It was a great ride. Everyone was in high spirits when we finally arrived at our destination to begin our picture adventure.  And  trust me – it was an adventure!

I’m not even sure when my friend and I first became friends because she has just always been a part of my life. My earliest memories include her and her sister.  They grew up on a farm just a half mile away from ours.  She has introduced me as her “first friend” before and I’m pretty sure she’s right. We are each other’s first friends.  Even after they moved to town we stayed fast friends.  Through school and college we were there for each other.  Some times bailing the other out and sometimes helping the other get into trouble, but always there.  We’d lost touch after husbands and kids made us busy for a while but we reconnected a few years ago.  I didn’t realize how much I’d missed her until I found her again.   It’s kind of like finding a sister who was lost. Because she is like my sister you realize she’s also nuts right?   Sweet, energetic and completely crazy.  That’s why we get along so well. 

Part of my friend’s photography philosophy is finding the perfect place outdoors to take pictures.  That means one must crawl into a vehicle and follow her down gravel roads at 80 miles per hour while she searches for great sites with the right amount of shade.  Did I mention we also loaded a chair into the back of her car in case she found the perfect spot outside to set it in for a picture? (She found the perfect spot eventually by the way.) Yeah.  Told you she is crazy.  As we pulled off into a field to get some pictures in some tall grass she looked at my husband and oldest son and said, “Don’t worry the sheriff’s office around here knows me.  They’ll let you go.”  Our son who is studying to be a police officer shot her a look. “If you ruin my career before it starts because of a trespassing charge….”  She just laughed and told him to keep his eyes peeled for deputy cars.  (I will insert here that she was totally kidding.  We were not violating any laws.)  A few shots later we were off again on a quest for more perfect spots.  We found them.  Someone’s garden bridge.  The local reservoir.  An old road bridge.  An abandoned car.  Different spots in small town Nebraska.  As we drove and searched I rode with her and caught up on life.  And laughed. We told my daughters some stories from when we were young. And laughed.  We reminisced. Did I mention we laughed? 

She and our oldest son dished it out and returned it to each other all day.  At one point she looked at me and said, “I’m just taking him out, okay!?”  I gave her permission. She didn’t try it but she may have been able to do it.  She’s pretty feisty my friend.  When family pictures done and we were focusing purely on senior pictures for our daughter she looked at me before we exited her car and said, “Watch. I’m gonna fire her dad up a little.”  She walked back to our van and announced, “We’ll get a few shots here and then we’ll get to the provocative pictures.”   My husband’s eyebrows raised and he shot me a look while shaking his head.  He’s known her long enough he wasn’t buying it but she sure does make life fun.  As we ended up back on her farm to finish up the photo taking it occurred to me that she is one of the reasons I am looking forward to moving next spring.  I won’t have to wait so long to get together with her any more because we will be living a lot closer together.

Driving home and listening to our kids talk I smiled over at my husband.  “Happy?” he asked.  “I am.” I said.  It had been a beautiful day spent with people who love me just because I’m me.  I don’t have to impress any of them or behave or respond in any special way when they are around. I can just be who I am because they know me better than anyone and love me despite my quirks. It was a great day filled with sunshine and friendship and family and laughter.  A day I’ll remember for a long time.  A day that makes me smile today even though I wanted to be grumpy and sad.  I guess life is about what we want to focus on.  Today I’m going to focus on the fun over the weekend and yesterday:  A day that brings me back from teetering over the edge.

2 responses to “A Teetering Kind Of Day

  1. Awww…that does sound like an amazing day!! I bet the pictures turn out awesome!! It sounds like she is extremely creative!!

  2. javaj240 says:

    That sounds like it was a great day!

Leave a Reply

