The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Beautiful Blogger Award

on October 23, 2012

I feel so lovely today…downright beautiful in fact.  Okay maybe that is taking it a bit far but I am humbled and honored to have been nominated for a blogging award by my new friend javaj240. Check out her blog Ambling & Rambling for some of the funniest and frank reading around.  I love not having to wonder what people are really thinking and her blog just tells it like it is.  She has also been instrumental in reminding me that those who work in restaurants are people with feelings too.  Who knew right? Great blog – Great fun – Thanks javaj240 for feeding my ego a bit.

Now I am supposed to share some things about myself. I’m assuming this means things I haven’t already shared and things that will not get me hauled away to a room with nicely padded walls.  This should be challenging but here goes….

  1. I tend to look at things from a totally different angle than most people. (Okay…how many of you did I throw off with the new blog name and theme?  Come on – admit it.  This seemed to be a good place to insert that.)  I like to champion the underdog, cheer for those who are down and see beauty in the simple things.  I also find humor in the weirdest places possible.  It’s a sickness really.
  2. The older I get the less I like extreme temperatures so I live in Nebraska where temps can range from 105 in the summer to -20 in the winter. Don’t try to figure it out – I haven’t.  My ultimate living environment would be 55 – 75 degrees with lower humidity all year long.  If you know of a place like that let me know.  Nah.  Don’t bother.  I’d find something to complain about there too.
  3. I am allergic to strawberries. Strawberry anything.  I didn’t know how uncommon this was until I told a few people about it. Apparently I’m the only one in America with this problem gauging from people’s reactions. I’m not sure if that makes me special or really weird.  I prefer to think of myself as “rare”.
  4. I’m a police drama and crime show junkie: “Criminal Minds”, “Law & Order”, “Cold Case”, “Snapped”, “City Confidential”…… the list too long to type them all out.  I have no idea why I like them all so much but it makes my family nervous.
  5. My favorite room in the house is the kitchen. I love to cook. Baking makes me happy. I’ve often pondered a career incorporating these things but I’m afraid that I would no longer enjoy doing it if I had to do it for a living.
  6. Following up on that thought: I have only worked at three places my entire life. Well unless you count the wife and mother thing. That makes four.  I have been at my current place of employment 12 years.  Don’t think for a minute that the prospect of our move next summer and the ensuing job search it’ll require doesn’t give me anxiety. I may be medicated soon.
  7. One of my guilty pleasures in life is a nice long bubble bath with a good bathtub book.  A bathtub book is one that requires very little brain power to read. Everyone is happy and everything turns out fine.  Life is hard some days so I believe that every once in a while a person needs bubbles and happily ever after.

Now I get to nominate some blogs that I enjoy and that make my life a little more beautiful.  This is tough since I enjoy so many of the great blogs out there and I hate to leave anyone out.  I wish I had the time and space to tell you about them all, but since I am limited, here goes (in no particular order):

The Bumble Files – Funny thoughts and observations from a mom who is in transition.  This one always makes me smile.

In This Life Mrs. H. –  Witty and well written thoughts of a newly (non)working mom.  I recently found this one and love it.

My Men And Me – Sweet blog written by a sweet woman.  Some days she reminds me of a simple truth, some days she challenges me to be a better woman, but every day she makes me think.   I am enjoying her current series :”31 Days To Loving my Home”.

How’s Your Love Life – This one, which I just found out is written by a fellow Nebraskan, is another that challenges me.  Honest and straightforward thoughts on being a Christian wife, mother….woman.

Post Departum Depression – A funny and insightful look at “life after kids” and what we moms do with it.  I love this lady.  Another one who is honest, up front and hilarious.

Motherhood Is An Art – Aside from the fact that this blog has the best name – EVER – this on is a lot of fun. A fun-loving creative mom who shares the adventures of her family. One of my favorite daily reads.

The Embiggens Project – This is honestly one of my favorites. A hilarious look at some of the most hilarious things I’ve ever seen.  Don’t plan to read this one while sipping a beverage because you’ll end up spewing it all over yourself and your screen.

As I said I wish I had the time and room to nominate all of the fabulous blogs that I follow but that just wouldn’t be practical and I, above all else, like to be practical.  You can quit laughing now.

Thank you again to all my beautiful followers whose kind words and fun comments make my day.  Be sure and let me know your thoughts on the new look and Blog title.  I am a constant work in progress…..

15 responses to “Beautiful Blogger Award

  1. javaj240 says:

    Guess what? I’m allergic to strawberries, too. I swear to God on my life. Freaky.

    You could try living in San Diego, for the climate. Just complain about the Mexicans. From what I understand, that’s what most Southern Californians do.

    I meant to comment on your new theme and slogan yesterday. I did notice!

    Thanks for letting us all a little further into your warped little corner of the world! I already follow/read a couple of your nominees, but will check out the ones I’ve not seen before. Thanks!

    • wedelmom says:

      Wow! There are two of us on the whole planet! Do people look at you like it’s the oddest allergy in the world too?
      San Diego….had an Aunt who lived there and loved it. Not a bad thought. Now if I could talk my husband into it…..probably not. I’ll just have to blow the budget on thermal socks this winter.

  2. Thank you so much!!! I can’t believe you just go up and change your blog name when I just figured out yesterday what the other one meant!!! I must say, this one is much more fitting!!! Thank you so much for the nomination! You know you are one of the first people I met when I joined the blogging world and have enjoyed your company ever since!

    • wedelmom says:

      You are most welcome – I feel like I’m visiting a friend every day when I read your blog.
      Funny thing is I was “mid switch” when I explained the old name to you yesterday. I’m a little mean on occasion….

  3. Thanks for the nomination! Well, that was a nice surprise. Congratulations to you. I, too, love a good book and hot bath. That’s always well worth my time. I’m envious you’ve only had three jobs…I’ve had so many I’ve lost count. Well, I had a lot of temp jobs and moved around a whole lot. Anyway, I feel for you and your move. But you’ll be just fine.

    • wedelmom says:

      You are most welcome – I thoroughly enjoy your blog.
      I’ve just had the good fortune of working for pretty good companies and not moving a lot. Change takes me a little time to embrace so I tend to put up with things longer than lots of employees.
      The move will be good – once I wrap my brain around it and shuffle through 15 years of stuff in our house. 😉

  4. Mrs H says:

    Thanks for the nomination and lovely words :-). I think I mistakenly replied to you within my own blog (duh). I know it’s a tad daft to ask, but now that you’ve nominated me (us), what next? Is there a stage to ‘receive’ the award other than being nominated and then nominating on in turn? I feel like I’m doing my usual missing important things I should know, in this case about the blogosphere etiquettes…
    PS LOVING the new name.

    • wedelmom says:

      You are welcome – it was well deserved.
      Not daft at all – took me a while to figure out the whole award nomination thing too. To accept the award all you have to do is post a picture of it, thank the person who nominated you, tell 7 things about yourself and nominate other blogs that you enjoy. I should have put the “rules” in my post so you wouldn’t have felt like you were missing something.

      PS – thanks! 🙂

  5. Janelle says:

    Thank you! Love the new name, by the way. And live your funny take on life. I always enjoy reading you.

  6. Thank you! I just saw this now!! You rock and I love your blog too!! And I love your new title–especially your use of the word “slightly!” haha.

    • wedelmom says:

      I kind of forgot to tell you didn’t I? LOL! You are so welcome. It was a no-brainer nomination. 😉
      Thanks. “Completely Corrupt” just didn’t sound as good…..

  7. momshieb says:

    A very belated thank you!! I’m honored, surprised and pleased as punch to be nominated! And I like your new name!

Leave a Reply

