The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Way We Really Are

on October 27, 2012

I mentioned last week that we had gone to have family pictures taken at the same time we were having our oldest daughter’s senior pictures done.  The photographer is one of my best friends since…well….birth.  Okay: toddler-hood. The CD of those pictures arrived this week. Along with all the “keepers” my friend included some of the out-takes for me.  True shots from the crazy lady behind the camera who loves the crazy family in front of the camera. As we’ve looked through the pictures, multiple times, something has occurred to me.  While I love the formal “make my family look sophisticated and good” pictures the out-takes are probably a better look at the chaos that is my family.

 

Here is my family in all our glory:

Here we are right after that shot:

Here are our children looking so sweet:

This is the way they usually act:

Here is one of our daughter’s beautiful senior pictures:

Taken right before her older brother made her laugh:

With out-takes you also catch some sweet moments.

This is one of my favorite shots:

because I know this happened right before the picture was taken (I was helping fix hair and wardrobe….)

Yep.  The out-takes may well be my favorite part of the CD and I will be forever grateful to my friend for knowing me well enough to know that I  would want some of those included.  I love the “real” glimpses of my family.  The images that capture the way we act and interact with one another.  Shots of us having a good time.  Don’t fear though.  This is the one that will probably make the Christmas card:

We don’t want  too many people to know the way we really are!

 

 

6 responses to “The Way We Really Are

  1. What a beautiful family!! I absolutely love these!! Thanks for sharing! And yes you are right, the outtakes really show the true essence of your family…very happy, silly and caring! I love the one with you and your daughter!!

    • wedelmom says:

      Awww – thank you. I was hesitant to post these because I’m not a fan of pictures which include me. ;). I did resisit including the one of my husband picking me up – little too much of my butt in that one.
      The one of Brittnie and I is one of my absolute favorites. I’m sure I’ll treasure that forever.

  2. javaj240 says:

    These are great! All of them! I, too love the one of you and your daughter. Your friend is a fabulous photographer.

    • wedelmom says:

      Thank you. She is awesome. She “retired” last year from doing it full time and now only takes pictures for family and close friends. I feel so fortunate that I still make her list.

  3. Janelle says:

    I love them all! So nice to “meet” you!

Leave a Reply

