The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Inspirational!

on November 20, 2012

Yesterday morning I received a special surprise: a nomination for the “Very Inspiring Blogger Award” from my friend facelikeafryingpan  whose blog The Embiggens Project inspires me to laugh. Hard. Seriously. Every time I read it.  The woman is hilarious.  So hilarious in fact that she finds my blog inspiring.  I’ve been called a lot of things before but never inspiring.  I’ve inspired people to leave the room screaming or to go take an extra dose of their meds but no one has ever said to me, “Hey. You inspire me.”  Thanks my friend.  It isn’t everyone who can hang with the strange thoughts that come from my angle.  I feel a little less odd and a lot more special now.

As with most things in life there are rules to follow in order to accept and pass along this Inspirational Award.

 1. Display the award logo on your blog.

2. Link back to the person who nominated you.

3. State 7 things about yourself.

4. Nominate 15 other bloggers for this award and link to them.

5. Notify those bloggers of the nomination and the award’s requirements.

Steps one and two: Check!

Now to thrill you all with seven things about myself….

  1. Obviously I am a check list person. (see above.)  I have been known to write things down on my check list that I have already done just so I can check them off. It’s an illness really but if I didn’t check-list I would never get things done.  It’s how my brain works.
  2. One of my other “illnesses” is the inability to tell anyone no.  Well…unless you ask my kids.  I have no problem telling them no most of the time.  It’s everyone else I struggle to say “no” to.  I am currently knee-deep in baking cake for 100 people because of this infuriating disease.   The disease that makes me say later, “Why did I say I would do this? Never again.”  Over and over and over.  You’d think that I’d learn.  I think my family is looking into institutions which offer therapy for this condition. I’m working on it….but not fast enough.
  3. I find myself asking “What was I thinking?!?!” all the time.  Part of it has to do with the above condition.   Part has to do with the fact that I have really great ideas….in theory.  For example: several years ago I was helping at my children’s school and decided that for the grandparent’s Thanksgiving dinner everyone needed a turkey made with Oreos,  malted milk balls and candy corn.  They were soooooo cute!  Oreo Turkeys (Thanksgiving Snack). Photo by NcMysteryShopperThey are cuter when someone else makes them let me assure you.  Most sane people would have said, “Change of plans!” Not me because….
  4. I can’t ever leave things undone.  I will kill myself, and on occasion several other people, in order to finish what I started.  I don’t care how long it takes me I will get it done.  I currently have a half done counted cross stitch picture that I thought would look wonderful in our dining room.  It is huge and done in tiny little fabric.  It’ll look great on my wall in the nursing home  I’m sure.
  5. Yes! I cross stitch. I know that it is no longer a “cool” thing to do seeing as how there are a million other crafty things that are much more mod, but I enjoy it.  It probably has something to do with the fact that when I was young my paternal grandmother and mother both taught me to sew, embroider and do “fancy work”. (Cue “Little House On The Prairie” music.)  I think of them both when I do things like that.  I also can’t just sit and watch TV or ride in a car without something to do.  So I cross stitch.
  6. I love musicals.  I have a particular love for the old ones.  I really do think that life should work like a musical.  I think we should all burst into song at the pivotal moments of our lives. I’ve done it from time to time. Seriously.  Click here for more on my thoughts about this subject.
  7. I have an addiction to mugs.  I love all mugs but I have a particular fondness for big over sized heavy mugs. Because people know this I have an almost embarrassing amount of Christmas mugs.  My family is ready to call the mug intervention team.  I can’t get rid of any of them because I always think of the people who gave me the mug when I use it.  It would be rude to throw someone’s gift, and therefore memory, away, right?  Besides – they are so cute and festive and I love them.  We were in Starbucks this weekend and I absolutely fell in love with a snowman latte mug but I walked away feeling virtuous.  Of course I posted something about it to Facebook in hopes that someone will take the hint and give it to me for Christmas this year.  Then it isn’t my fault.  Yes.  I scare myself sometimes.

If I haven’t scared you off yet, join me for step four: my favorite part of blog awards.  This is where I get to list some of the many blogs that inspire me.  Some of them inspire me to laugh.  Others make think a little deeper.  A few remind me to look at life from someone else’s perspective. A couple are just inspirational because of the talent they display.  All of them brighten my day and inspire me in some way. If you’ve read much of my blogs you know that some days I am silly and some days serious.  This collection of blogs reflects that part of my personality. In no particular order, I nominate:

Ambling and Rambling

In This Life Mrs. H.

The Way Everlasting

The Bumble Files

In-House Councel

Motherhood Is An Art

My Men And Me

Canadian Hiking Photography

How’s Your Love Life

Post Departum Depression

The London Flower Lover

Bucket List Publications

Nincompoopery

A Detailed House

Playful and Hungry

Check them out my friends there is some great stuff in that list.  Now I am off to notify my nominees before I return to cake baking purgatory while I do my latest mental exercises: “No. See you can do it! No!  Better! Try again. NO!!!!”

9 responses to “Inspirational!

  1. Janelle says:

    Thank you, Friend!

  2. momshieb says:

    Thank you!! Feeling quite humbled here in my empty nest!

  3. Thank you so much for the nomination!

  4. First of all, thank you so much!! You are so good to me!! Secondly, I know what you mean about the sitting and watching TV thing or riding in the car. I CAN’T just sit. I always have something else I’m doing too. I commend you for doing cross stitch! I think it’s cool! I have tried it a few times but I always burn out and have never finished a single project. I keep thinking about learning crochet. I don’t think I really need any more hobbies but something new to do while I’m watching tv I think is in order!! That is so funny about your mug obsession and call out on Facebook!!! LOL!!

    • wedelmom says:

      First – you are welcome. I so enjoy your blog – no brainer!
      Thanks for not thinking me odd for cross stitching. My grandmother taught me to crochet too but I didn’t practice it enough to get very good at it and now I can’t remember how to do it very well. I was just thinking the other day I should find someone to give me a refresher course.
      Yeah….it’s a sickness really. Both the obsession and the manipulative thing. LOL!

  5. Thank you so much for the kind words! I’m speechless–a condition that I rarely experience. Just ask anyone who knows me.
    I am also a list person who writes down things she has already done. It really creates a sense of accomplishment, don’t you think. I do, however, have no problem leaving things undone. None whatsoever. I am an excellent self-starter. A lousy self-finisher.
    I love mugs too. The bigger the better. Especially if they are the head of a pop culture icon. My fav is my Ernie mug, but I really want a Bert one.
    I guess my speechless state was short-lived. Hehe.

Leave a Reply

