The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

A Message of Thanksgiving

on November 22, 2012

It’s Thanksgiving in the USA.  A day to stop and be thankful.  A day to celebrate a small group of people who traveled and survived in adverse conditions all in the hope of freedom to worship how they chose.  A celebration of the friendship that helped them survive.  A day of thanksgiving to God for seeing them through.   It’s an important day really but it seems to be getting more marginalized every year.  Because I’m a purest who believes we celebrate one holiday at a time my pilgrims, turkeys  and cornucopias will stay in place for one more day. Tomorrow the ornaments come out of the boxes.

Today I had intended to spend a day with my family enjoying food and fun and being grateful for all with which I have been blessed.  Unfortunately a minor stomach bug has me sidelined today so I will pack up my family and send them off to celebrate. It made me cry for a moment but in the end it’s the best thing and I’m thankful that I figured out I wasn’t feeling the best before we took off on the two-hour drive and before I exposed my extended family to any viruses. Now I will spend the day being quiet and recuperating while I am grateful for all my blessings.  In the end, I don’t think it’s bad to spend a quiet reflective day.  I think we all need to do that from time to time whether sidelined by a “bug” on a  holiday or not.

So…

To my American Friends: Happy Thanksgiving! I hope you spend it in a way that is meaningful to you and you have a great day.

 To my International Friends: Happy Thursday! I hope you spend it in a way that is meaningful to you and you have a great day.  

I am thankful for each of you with whom I have connected in some way this year.  You’ve all added a new dimension to my life.

May you be blessed today and every day!

11 responses to “A Message of Thanksgiving

  1. Janelle says:

    Happy Thanksgiving. I agree, one holiday at a time. I hope you enjoy your quiet day.

  2. javaj240 says:

    I hope you feel better! I’m still fighting this stupid virus (on and off for two weeks now!)…. Happy Thanksgiving!

    • wedelmom says:

      Thank you. I never really felt that bad. We seem to be kicking a minor bug back and forth around our house this fall too. Stupid viruses. They are supposed to just go away aren’t they??
      My brother-in-law has Addisons Disease so any kind of stomach ailment usually means he ends up in the ER getting treatment for dehydration. I decided yesterday it was better to be safe than sorry.

  3. momshieb says:

    Hope that your day was restful, and reflective! Be well!
    And thank you for your writing, for sharing your life with us, for making us laugh when we need it!

    • wedelmom says:

      Thank you for your well wishes and your encouragement. I am back to my old ornery self today. 😉
      Hope your Thanksgiving and your “full-nest” day was wonderful!

  4. Aw, I hope you feel better!
    We’re thankful for your blog and your whacky sense of humour!!

  5. Oh man, sorry you had to miss celebrating with your family..hope you’re feeling better!

Leave a Reply

