The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Happy As I Choose To Be

on November 26, 2012

 

As I woke up this morning I could sense that I had the potential of a real funk coming on.  I truly believe that Mondays after a four-day holiday weekend should be outlawed. They just have no redeeming quality really and no one looks forward to them.  Well….no one I know. Actually maybe we should outlaw four-day holiday weekends.  If it weren’t for them we wouldn’t spend all of Sunday night saying, “Wow that really went fast.” or “I really don’t want to go back to work tomorrow.” Wait.  That’s every weekend.  Never mind.   I’m going to stick with Mondays following long weekend being cruel and unusual punishment.  Or at least what feels like cruel and unusual punishment when the alarm goes off.  In fact alarms on any Monday are cruel and unusual.  Necessary I realize but cruel none the less.  Judging from the number of times I had to call up the stairs this morning to get our youngest son moving for school I’m guessing he would agree. He wasn’t too impressed with his “human” alarm this morning either.  (Thankfully he knows better than to hit me on the head or throw me across the room.)  In fact I’m pretty sure none of my kids were impressed with the whole thing this morning.  Not a lot of happy faces headed off to school this morning.  Not grumpy really, just not happy.  It was kind of like Monday morning blues on steroids.  That’s what long weekends do.

After dropping off my less than excited youngest at school and heading to work in the lightly falling snow I found myself slipping deeper into “grumpy land.”  I live in Nebraska.  You would think people would remember how to drive in snow. They never do however.  The first snow of the year always brings out the worst driver in half the population around here. It wasn’t even a heavy snow I might add.  Just a light little snow that was sticking but wasn’t doing too much to the road conditions.  It doesn’t matter.  The mere presence of white stuff in the air causes some people’s gray matter in the head to go into a snow coma.  They do things like stop in the middle of the street to let people walk across.  Now I know it’s chilly out but I really do think that it isn’t too much to ask for someone to walk the extra 1/3 block to the corner to walk across in the cross walk.  That was I see them and don’t almost hit a pedestrian.  Just pointing it out.

By the time I arrived at work I was in less than the best of moods and actually working up to a true pity party.  My husband left for his four-day stretch of work this morning. My oldest child left to go back to college this morning.  My other kids were grumpy and I didn’t want to be at work.  Yup.  I was on my way to a great big funk of a pity party.  Then I remembered that I can’t stand pity parties when other people throw them.  Why today had I decided that it was okay for me to throw my own?  I am not a fan of hypocrites. When did I become one?  At about that time the Abraham Lincoln quote from above popped into my head.  I realized I had a choice to make.   We all do.  Every morning.  And afternoon.  And evening.

Sometimes it’s just good to be reminded of that.

 

 

8 responses to “Happy As I Choose To Be

  1. Janelle says:

    Ah yes, so true. I need a reminder of that most mornings.

  2. Your day will go the way the corners of your mouth are turned. I LOVE that. If it makes you feel better, I had to work on Sunday. Yup. I had the Sunday morning blues.

  3. momshieb says:

    I guess this explains my not-so-excited fifth grade class today, huh? AND my own big old funk. Bleh!

  4. javaj240 says:

    True. But not always easy to remember. Thanks for the reminder.

    • wedelmom says:

      Not easy to remember at all. I’m thinking I’m going to post it on my bathroom mirror. And the coffee pot. And the dash of my car. Computer screen at work……

Leave a Reply

