The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Better Than Winning Powerball

on November 29, 2012

I found myself becoming amused yesterday at all the postings about Powerball.  My favorite ones were the ones that went a little something like “like and share this and we will share our winnings with you if we win.”  None of them said how much of their winnings they were going to share but I sure had some friends who were going to get in on that action.  $10 is $10 right?  We’ve all heard that money can’t buy happiness but there are evidently lots of people who are willing to test the theory.  I’ve often thought that I too wouldn’t mind finding out first hand if that saying is true but it occurred to me this morning that I can’t.  I’m already happy without a lot of money.

Tomorrow is my husband and my 22nd anniversary.  Notice I didn’t say “wedding anniversary.”  We didn’t really have a wedding.  We got married in a small ceremony with only close family and had a small reception with only close friends and family a week later.  Funny thing is that I’m just as married as if I’d have had the big wedding many people think is necessary to do it “right”.  In fact I’ve stayed married longer than a lot of people who did start “right” with a great big old wedding. Oops! I’m digressing again.

As I woke up this morning and wasn’t $580 million richer (because, you know, that would have required purchasing a ticket)  I realized that my life is richer than I could have ever dreamed it could have been 22 years ago.  We were just young kids who had no idea what they were getting themselves into that day.  Today we are  old kids who have weathered over half of our lifetimes together.  The good stuff.  The bad stuff.  The stuff in between.  It hasn’t always been easy but it has always been worth it. I love him more today than I ever could have dreamed I could love anyone that day almost 22 years ago.  I didn’t know I had it in me. I didn’t know he had it in him.  I didn’t know together we’d have all we’d ever need.  I am immensely blessed to be married to my best friend. A man who above all loves me and knows me like no one else can.  Who can be richer than that?

Last night I discovered this post on my Facebook wall:

“You have captured my heart, my treasure, my bride. You hold it hostage with one glance of your eyes….” Song of Solomon 4:9

This morning he posted this:

“Do You Ever!”

Scripture and an 80’s video.  Humor and a country song.  He melts my heart.  He makes me laugh.  I love this man!

Way better than winning Powerball.

My Sweetie and I:

9 responses to “Better Than Winning Powerball

  1. Precious! Congrats, you two.

  2. Wow!!! That is way too cool! My husband recently wrote a really nice note to me on Facebook and my mom commented how it was the sweetest words she had ever seen. She said my dad has never wrote anything nice like that to her! I told her perhaps if they both had Facebook accounts he would!!! LOL!!

    • wedelmom says:

      My husband isn’t on his Facebook much but since he’s gone 4 days at a time every once in a while he’ll leave me a gem. Facebook: improving romance. Yeah…that’s it!

  3. Congrats!!! Love your pic, by the way! My hubby isn’t on Facebook, but he draws faces on things because he knows it makes my day. There are currently a pair of felt eyes and a nose on one of the throws in the living room. Just because. lol.
    Great post! I wish you many, many more awesome years together!

    • wedelmom says:

      Thank you. I debated long and hard about putting up a picture. I’m not a fan of pictures of me. Or mirrors…
      I love it! Faces on the throws. Gotta love a man who thinks of doing little things just to make you smile.
      If it weren’t for texting and facebook during our “transition” we’d be having a way harder time talking to each other. Hope we can figure out how to live together full time again next spring. LOL!

    • Sandra says:

      Absolutely lovely! Thank you for sharing this. I love looking at old photographs too and I must say that back then, folks dressed well. The outfits on here are still hip today, in my opinion. I am really loving Grandma Je7e1ettn&#82na;s dress.

  4. Congratulations! Sounds like you and your DH are so blessed to have other. I love seeing 2 people grow more and more in love. 🙂

Leave a Reply

