The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

It Was Bound To Happen

on December 3, 2012

kids-singing-christmas-carols

I knew it! I knew I wouldn’t make it through the entire Christmas season without hearing the one song that makes me scream and turn the station.  It happened on the way back to work after my lunch break today. I was almost to the parking lot when it began playing.  My reaction was so violent that I almost rear-ended someone.  It’s on so soon in the season? I’m doomed to hear it over and over now.  I just know it.   I know you are dying to know exactly what tune causes me to almost annihilate other motorists in my frenzy to change the station and since Christmas is a time for giving I’ll share so you too can be annoyed today.  Here you go:

 

Before you think me a heartless person let me admit that the first few times I heard this song I was touched.  It’s sweet and sappy and quite Christmasy.  I really liked it at first.  Until they started playing it every five minutes during the month of December.  And then turned it into a movie.  Now when it come on you might as well be playing this:

I also like this one the first time I heard it.  Funny.  Once.  After that it is kind of like nails on a chalkboard.  Or….the neighbor’s dog who barks constantly.  Oh….wait…  Unfortunately I have trouble enjoying Jingle Bells now because somewhere in my head a dog starts barking.  Until I shut him up.

It’s kind of amazing how a version of a song will do that to you.  We have long had “A Very Veggie Christmas” at our house.  My kids, no matter how old they’ve gotten, still love that CD.  Why?  It’s funny.  Well and they use it against me. Have a listen to one of my favorite songs from the album:

Cute…no?  There is nothing better than a prepubescent asparagus singing a classic Christmas song with some sheep.  I love it.  One day when I was dropping our oldest son (who is now 21) at junior high school I attempted to sing the “joy..joy..joy” part with Junior Asparagus.  I obviously can’t sing like a young vegetable so it came out more like, well….screaming.  My children all looked at me in horror. (Mostly because we were pretty close to a public place and someone could have heard me.) Then they all laughed.  Now every year at Christmas we have to listen to the CD so that my children can all sing/scream through that part and make me laugh.  Our oldest is the best at it though.  Big stink.

My oldest daughter giggles during that song because she remembers the year that our church choir sang it. As they sang “joy joy joy!” my daughter and I leaned close together and perfectly sang “baa…baa…baa!”  (Don’t worry – we were quiet.)  Yep.  “While By My Sheep” is totally ruined for me.  I’ll never be able to sing it normal again. Funny thing is I don’t really mind.  I’d rather sing like Junior and the sheep.  My kids love it.

Here’s another Veggie version of a Christmas carol that’ll get stuck in your head.  You’re welcome!

 

5 responses to “It Was Bound To Happen

  1. Tonya says:

    Oh the Christmas Shoe song….gag, puke and then gag and puke all over again!

  2. Janelle says:

    It’s the relentless repetition, isn’t it. We’ve always loved the BoneyM christmas album, and a few others. This year I’ve been listening to online radio… when one station gets old I just try a new one.

  3. I must have been living under a rock…I have NEVER heard Christmas Shoes! Admittedly, I don’t usually listen to the radio so this may explain why. I’ll keep my ears open for it now and think of you each time and it causing you so much angst!!!

    • wedelmom says:

      No angst here – just an accident as I flip the station. 😉
      I can’t believe you’ve never heard it. It has to be one of the most overplayed Christmas songs…..EVER!

Leave a Reply

