The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Busy Work Brain Fog

on December 4, 2012

brain-fogWe’ve officially hit the “quiet time” of year at work which is always a problem for me.  I don’t do really well without a list of things to do.  Particularly when I have a list of things that need to be done at home.   The whole situation makes me get agitated.  Add to that my feeling of guilt for getting paid to not do a lot and I’m usually getting a bit psycho about right now.  There are only so many office supply cupboards to clean out and things to dust.  I can only answer the phone when it rings which it isn’t doing much.  I can’t make up work to do.  Or can I?

Today, in the throes of  ‘Oh my word what am I going to do all day long’ I thought I came up with a brilliant idea.  I decided to reorganize all the files and documents  on my computer.  Since I am leaving in six months it only seems fair to leave the secretary who follows me with nice tidy files and document names that make sense.  Some days when I finally find a document that I’m searching for I think to myself, “What in the world was I thinking when I saved that?”  Today seemed like a good day to start purging old and unneeded things, making sure that all the files are saved in places that make sense and are saved in the latest format available.  Sounds like a good plan – right?   It gives me something to keep myself busy and ticks off one more project that I should complete before my last day of work.  It’s something that needs to be done so why not plunge in and do it? What can be the down side here?

It is now late afternoon and I’ve discovered the down side.  I have total brain fog.  Fog so thick that I can’t see past the end of my nose.  No amount of coffee is going to cut through this stuff.  I’m down for the count.  Done for the day.  I cannot look at one more document name without losing my mind completely.  I’m on the verge of incoherent babble and drooling. In the midst of my fog I did make a mental note for myself.’I don’t care how quiet it is tomorrow I am not planning to spend the whole day organizing my computer.   I’ll finish this task a little at a time. There comes a point when being busy for the sake of looking busy becomes detrimental.   Besides that: I’m pretty sure it’s time to rotate that copy paper again…..

looking busy

4 responses to “Busy Work Brain Fog

  1. I’ve had days like that. Brain fog, indeed! This is difficult when you must look like you’re working. How about about learning a new application or something, you know job training? Good luck!

    • wedelmom says:

      I’m usually pretty good at staying occupied. I’m not sure why I thought I needed to spend an entire day playing with documents though… WOW! Bad idea.

  2. I say mess with the next person who gets your job and change all of the document names to things completely off the wall and absurd. That would make your day a little fun!!

Leave a Reply

