The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Christmas Wishes

on December 12, 2012

animal tagsYesterday I was tagged in a post.  At first I was a little scared by the thought of that.  I mean some animals are tagged so that people can keep track of them.  And, you know, take them down if they become a nuisance.  I also pondered the fact that I was often tagged as a child.  Never being athletic I was usually tagged out in every game or spent a lot of time being “it”.  Imagine my joy when I investigated and discovered this was a good tag.  One that is a special surprise and gives you happiness.  You know like the tags you turn over and they read, “Super Reduced – 90% Off” or “To: you From: me.”  Thanks to Atlantamomofthree for including me in the fun.  Of course like everything else there are rules.  Here’s what I have to do:

  1. Name my five Christmas wishes.
  2. Tag five other bloggers and ask them to do the same.

Simple enough – I’m game.  Well maybe not simple.  Maybe Christmas wishes are more complicated than I originally thought.  I mean I don’t want to sound shallow and wish for gift cards or something along that line.  On the other hand I don’t want to be too generic and wish for peace on earth good will toward men. Boring! Maybe I should wish that I would quit making uncomplicated things too complicated.

Upon a little reflection and keeping the name of my blog in mind I realized that, seriously, my biggest wishes have to do with perspective.  Here goes:

  • The ability to focus on what really matters.  Yesterday I took a day off from work to spend the day alone with my husband while the kids were at school. No phones, no computer, no agenda, no distractions.  Just us spending time together. (No – it wasn’t all about that either.  Get your minds out of the gutter people.)  We purposed to make time for just one another during this hectic time of year.  We didn’t shop or even leave the house.  It wasn’t grand or elaborate or even complicated but it was very refreshing.  It didn’t, however, totally go the way we had envisioned.
  • The ability to handle changes in plan. Around lunchtime yesterday we received a call that our daughter had been hurt at school and required one of us to take her in for stitches.  That wasn’t exactly what we had planned for our afternoon.  Were we a little annoyed at first? Maybe a little but our daughter’s well being will always be more important than us having “down time” together.
  • The ability to think of the way others might view things.  I could tell immediately from our daughter’s voice that she was mortified that she had interrupted our day together.  While her father went to fetch her (I don’t do blood well) I assured her that we were not upset with her.  It was important to me to let her know that she didn’t do anything wrong. Accidents happen.  She didn’t need guilt on top of injury.
  • The ability to find something good no matter the situation.  I am so thankful that my husband was home yesterday. He is much calmer about injuries that are “gross” than I am. (I just mentioned I don’t do blood – right?) After finding out the details of what happened we are also thankful that our daughter didn’t end up breaking her leg. While I hate that she got hurt, it could have been so much worse.
  • The ability to laugh no matter what.  After 20 stitches and knowing she was going to be okay we had to laugh about the whole situation.  What are the odds that on the day her parents wanted to spend alone the risers she was dancing on for show choir would split apart right where she was standing?  Also amazingly funny to me is that while her older brother played football, wrestled and powerlifted the only things we ever dealt with were a minor concussion once and an ingrown toenail.  Our daughter, who is a music/drama “geek”,  has had 3 mild concussions, a messed up shoulder and now a gash in her shin: all from music or drama events. Yes.  We are planning to wrap her in bubble wrap soon.

My five unsuspecting friends who are about to be tagged:

My Men And Me

Keeping It Real

The Embiggens Project

Ambling & Rambling

Nincompoopery

You’re It!!

christmas-gift-tag

13 responses to “Christmas Wishes

  1. javaj240 says:

    I love this…. thank you! I don’t know how I will top your wishes. They’re great.

    So glad to hear your daughter’s ok…. 20 stitches… that’s a helluva lot of Vicryl. Holy crap.

    • wedelmom says:

      It’s kind of fun isn’t it? I know you – you will come up with great wishes without even breaking a sweat. i was just fortunate to have a “learning” day yesterday.
      Thanks – she’s doing pretty well. She actually only has 8 stitches that are visible. The rest are inside. Not a long gash – but deep. She prides herself on being tough. (I guess when you are that accident prone you have to be tough.) I can’t even get her to take ibuprofen without an argument. She’s way more woman than her mom! 😉

    • wedelmom says:

      Trust me that’s been discussed LOL. The best part of all of it are the looks the doctors give you when they ask “What where you doing?” And you answer “Show Choir”.

  2. Wow! Your wishes are so deep and altruistic! I’m impressed. Can I wish for five more wishes?
    Glad your munchkin is okay!! And, about the whole squeamish blood thing–I am useless in an emergency situation because my feet go numb. I am literally unable to move. They turn into lumps of nothingness. If something is really gross, my hands go numb too. Like I said–useless.
    My wishes will go up tomorrow. Have to head in to work now.

    • wedelmom says:

      Well – you know – I am so deep – lol! Luckily I had a “lesson day” this week so it just kind of fit together.
      I’m glad to know I’m not the only useless person in an emergency. Many people have asked me why I didn’t go into the medical profession like several family members. My answer is always, “How is my puking on people and then fainting going to help them?”
      Have a lovely day at work!!

  3. Janelle says:

    Hmmm, I will give it some thought. Love yours! I’m all for using my children’s mishaps to teach me something!

  4. Timing is everything, isn’t it? You just never know how each day will turn out. Especially with kids, life can be so unpredictable. I’m happy to hear your baby girl is okay. And yes, I would definitely invest in some sturdy bubble wrap! 🙂

  5. […] my friend, Wedelmom, over at The View from a Slightly Twisted Angle, tagged me in her “Christmas Wishes” […]

Leave a Reply

