The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

To Resolve Or Not To Resolve….

on December 31, 2012

Have you ever noticed on New Year’s Eve that social network sites are exploding with posts of people bemoaning what a horrible year 2012 was for them.  (I wonder if those people were all holding out hope that the Mayans were right.  Looking from the outside one would think the world exploding would have been a highlight for them.)  Those same people are looking forward to a “better year” in 2013.  At this time next year many of the same people will be posting the same things they are posting this year. One of these years has got to go well for them….right? I mean people are making New Year’s Resolutions today.  That ought to fix everything this year.  Maybe  not.

I don’t normally make resolutions.  Never have.  My natural-born tendency to feel like a failure doesn’t need any help thanks.  That doesn’t mean I don’t make lifestyle changes when needed.  For example: A few years ago I changed my diet and exercise habits and lost 50 pounds.  I wasn’t inspired by a new year however.  Nope.  It was my doctor using the words “cholesterol medication.” A new year may not motivate me to change but threaten to put me on any kind of drug and I’ll do whatever it takes.   That can happen at any time of the year but since this is New Year’s Eve and I’m in the resolution frame of mind…..here goes.

Popular New Year’s Resolutions I Won’t Be Making Because There Is No Way I Will Keep Them:

  1. Eat Healthier.    This one will get blown at about noon on New Year’s Day when our beloved Huskers play in the Capitol One Bowl and I serve super nachos.  If the game goes as I fear it will we will be in need of comfort food.
  2. Save Money.  Daughter graduating from high school and family moving to a different town. Odds of saving money this year?  Yeah.  Why set myself up for failure?
  3. Take A Trip.  See above.  Same reasons.
  4. Get Organized.  I already drive my poor family insane with my borderline OCD issues.  Can I possible nag them more about putting their stuff away? I’d like to not get voted off the island this year….
  5. Exercise More.  Please. I have enough trouble making myself do the amount I do now.  You want more? Ha!

 New Year’s Resolutions I Think I Can Keep:

  1. Get More Sleep.  Yep.  I can handle that one.
  2. Downsize. Since were shipping yet another child off to college and then moving the rest of the family I know this one is going to happen. It’s already started. (see OCD note above.)
  3. Get A New Job.  I’d better or living somewhere else is not going to be very fun.
  4. Try Something New.  See above resolutions.  New city, new job, new house….yeah.  That’d be the reason for #1.

And,  probably the most important resolution for me this year:

Beginning tomorrow I resolve to remember to write “2013” on all my checks.

Have a Safe and Happy New Year Everyone!!

resolutions

6 responses to “To Resolve Or Not To Resolve….

  1. mindbender99 says:

    My New Years Resolution is to not make a New Years Resolution… Dang it, I already blew it… 🙂

  2. Happy New Year! I hope you 2013 is a happy one with all the many changes around the corner. Best wishes.

  3. I’m with you! Definitely going to try and get MORE sleep this coming year. Wishing you and your family all the best in 2013!

  4. My borderline OCD is really kicking into over drive as I write! I will finally have everyone out of the house after two weeks and I can start getting the house back in order! I tried to keep it at bay while they were here and enjoy our family time but things are so disorganized and messy now…So no, I don’t make resolutions either but small things like keeping the house clean are always major accomplishments!

Leave a Reply

