The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

I’m Versatile! Who Knew?

on January 24, 2013

versatileblogger11

Imagine my delight when I logged on today to discover that sweet Valerie at  Atlantamomofthree nominated me for the Versatile Blog Award.  Though I had something else in mind today I decided to post this lovely acceptance and nomination blog today…..before I forget…..which I do  a lot…. especially if I don’t write it down or get it on my phone task pad.  (I swear if I ever lose my phone I won’t know where to go or who my friends are. Seriously.)  This might explain why Valerie hasn’t received a post card from me for her postcard blog.  I keep forgetting to put it on my shopping list.  The one on my phone.   If I were truly versatile I would carry both a paper list and the one on my phone.  I’ll work on that.  In the mean time I appreciate the nomination and shout out from a truly lovely blogger.  Check out her blog which really is versatile and one of my favorites.  She is one of those women who honestly lives her faith.  I love that!

Okay – on to business – before I forget….

Here are the rules for accepting this award:

  1. Link back to the person who nominated you.
  2. Nominate other blogs for the award.
  3. List 7 random things about you.
  4. Put the award pic on your acceptance post

1 and 4….check!  Now to tackle the center of the award.

Now for the nominations.  I always struggle with this because there are so many great blogs and I follow and love many of them. I am going to try to limit myself to a few that I feel fit the definition of versatile.  Well….my definition of versatile.

Motherhood Is An Art – is one of my favorites.  I look forward each day to this great lady’s offering.  You never know if you are going to get a craft idea, a sweet memory or a funny anecdote from daily life.  I feel like I have been invited to be a part of this family.  Love it!

Behind The Mind’s Ear  – is married to the lovely lady above.  Fairly new to blogging he has already tackled a variety of thoughts and linked them all to GREAT music.  He recently divulged that he may have a dark side….I can’t wait to see how this unfolds.

The Return Of The Modern Philosopher – I recently discovered this blog and it quickly became one of my favorites.  This truly gifted screenwriter shares his “deep thoughts” which will have you laughing until you can’t breathe. No subject is off limits to his quick wit and hilarious spin.  Great fun!

Post Departum Depression – is another of my long time favorites.  This wonderful teacher shares not only her life as she adjusts to her empty nest but her passion on a variety of issues.  Great reading – great blog – great lady!

Ambling & Rambling – is another favorite. You never know what this Jersey-girl is going to share but you can be sure she’ll tell it like it is.  A delightfully real look at life from a delightful lady.

The Embiggens Project – is one of the first blogs I found and remains one of my all time favorites.  This wonderfully crazy woman may be the closest thing I’ve ever found to a kindred spirit. You never know what subject she will tackle in her blog but you can bet that you will laugh until you hurt.  I have no idea where she finds her material but I’m so glad she shares it!

Finally – seven random things about me.  How hard can that be? I’m pretty random.

  1. I have very little feeling on the ball of my right foot. While on a camping trip to celebrate my 6th birthday I ran, barefoot, through the remains of the previous night’s campfire.  I distinctly remember blowing out the candles of my Holly Hobby cake while my foot was in a bucket of ice.
  2. I collected Smurf paraphernalia while in junior high and high school.  I have no idea where it all went because I left it when I moved out. (Bad kid.) My daughters recently made me a  fleece blanket with Smurfette on it. Best. Gift. Ever.
  3. My sister and my husband’s sister both played the flute.  Our oldest daughter plays the flute.  My husband and I both played the trumpet.  Our youngest daughter plays the trumpet. (You’d think we could have saved at least one of those instruments wouldn’t you??)  Our youngest son recently announced that he wants to play the trombone.  Guess what my brother played?  I have no idea why our oldest son chose the bass guitar.  No genetic connection there.
  4. I loved the cartoon Grape Ape when I was little.  As a result my favorite color was purple and I would only chew grape gum, drink grape pop, eat grape Popsicles…you get the drift.  I still have an affinity for grape juice.
  5. My paternal grandfather belonged to an old-fashioned  Muzzeloader’s  club. He believed that each of his grandchildren should learn how to shoot one so he taught us. (Except for my sister maybe.  I’m not sure how she got out of that.) I still have the handmade seed bead “native american” necklace I won for taking first place in the 8-12 year old division of the one and only tournament I went to with him.  (Yes – that was the last time I fired a gun.)
  6. I have to sleep with a blanket covering the bottom half of my ear.  I blame my mother who to this day runs around and covers nappers with blankets – up to the center of their ear. (I think I shared this in a comment somewhere….is that cheating?)
  7. Don’t ever say the words, “Tomorrow is another day.” to me or you will spend the next hour listening to quotes from “Gone With The Wind“. I scare myself sometimes….

I think I got it all so I’m off to notify my fabulous nominees!  Before I forget……

laugh

19 responses to “I’m Versatile! Who Knew?

  1. Congratulations on your award and thank you for nominating my silly blog! I’m glad you enjoy reading it… 🙂

  2. momshieb says:

    I’m so excited to be nominated; thank you! I love your blog, your random and refreshing thoughts and your lighthearted musings. Kinda psyched to be in such a rarified group of great writers, too!

  3. Valerie says:

    Oh, so THAT’S why no postcard from you yet! Did you get mine, btw?
    Thank you for your kind words. ❤ Living my faith is the only goal I have for my blog, so I love that you see that!! 😀
    I loved all your random things. Too funny about the blanket! lol

    • wedelmom says:

      Yes – that is the reason why – mostly. I’ve seen your posts and think “Oh – I need to do that!” And then not be able to find a postcard from our neck of Nebraska. Seriously. We aren’t exactly a vacation destination so I kind of get it, but – really?!?! Anyway – I decded to creatively punt so you should be getting something soon. :). Yes – I got yours. Thank you!
      You are doing well in your blog goal. I am always looking for Christians who are willing to be real. Not perfect – not trying to save everyone – just people who are living what they believe and are fun. You fit that cateegory. 😉

      • Valerie says:

        Several people have said that they were having trouble finding postcards! I think it must be kind of a lost art unless you’re in Hawaii or other tourist-y place. 😉
        Well, the thing about saving people…I don’t see that as my job tbh. BUT I know that if my light shines and people SEE Him in me and my life, they could ultimately be led to Him! ❤ I would hope they see a difference in me and not because I am necessarily talking about God all the time. Kwim?

      • wedelmom says:

        I know exactly what you mean. I try to live that way myself. 😉

  4. mindbender99 says:

    Congratulations and thank you very much for the nomination… I am still getting the hang of things around here so, please forgive me if I do not follow etiquette just yet… Have a Great Friday!

  5. Congrats!! You are not only versatile, but very awesome too!! And Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! You made my pink eye-suffering day! I had a Holly Hobby cake when I was a kid too–but I did not have my foot in a bucket of ice. That is way too funny that you have to cover the bottom half of your ear with the blanket. You do realize that the blanket probably slips off quite soon after that. Maybe you should try velcro tabs–one of the comforter, one of the earlobe. You could then apply velcro tabs to your earrings. And toques. But I digress. And, what is Grape Ape? I seemed to have missed that one. All I know is that I spent a lot of type puking grape soda as a kid.

    • wedelmom says:

      Honestly the blanket usually slips up. Over my head. Which makes my husband laugh.
      Grape Ape was a fabulous cartoon featuring a King Kong sized purple ape.

      • wedelmom says:

        OOOO – I hit post too fast. Hate it when I do that! You are awesome yourself my friend. You had to know there were more things we have in common – right? I don’t recommend blowing out candles while icing your foot but it does make for a memorable birthday.
        Hope your pink eye is better soon! NO FUN!

  6. Oh, thank you so much!! You are the best blogging friend! You know what….I still have ALL my Smurf memorabilia from when I was a kid! Surprise! Surprise! Someday when I’m passing through Nebraska you may just be the lucky recipient of a 1982 Smurfette figurine or a Papa Smurf plush doll! haha!!

    • wedelmom says:

      You are welcome dear lady. Right back at you.
      NO WAY! I knew there was something about you…. ;). I had a plush baby smurf and papa smurf. If I locate them in my parent’s basement we could have a reunion party.

  7. javaj240 says:

    I love picturing the six-year-old you with your foot in a bucket of ice while blowing out the candles on your Holly Hobbie cake. You poor thing!

    Thanks so much for nominating me! I will definitely participate. Of course I might put it off… after all, “tomorrow is another day”.

    I will definitely check out the blogs that you recommended. They sound great! That’s my favorite part of these awards, I’ve found quite a few great blogs to follow (like I need to follow more blogs, LOL!). Thanks!

    • wedelmom says:

      when you think about it: cake, presents and a lot of people feeling sorry for you. Not altogether bad when you are six.
      You are most welcome. I’ll be looking for your post….tomorrow. My family would like to thank you for setting me off by the way.
      I know the feeling…..so many blogs….so little time….

Leave a Reply

