The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

I Wonder If It’s Wednesday…..

on February 6, 2013

WonderingWednesday

This has already been one of those weeks and it is only half over.  Sunday in addition to watching the Super Bowl we had to attend a business meeting at our church and celebrate our youngest daughter’s 15th birthday.  In between the festivities I had to pack and prepare our youngest two to stay with some dear friends for a couple of days.  Monday found us leaving early (did I mention early??) to trek all the way across our fine state for a college visit with our oldest daughter.  Have I ever mentioned it’s a long drive across our fine state?  (Especially when you leave EARLY.)  Five and a half hours.  Then we drove back the next day. (I think that was yesterday, but don’t quote me on that.)  All that road time gave me a lot of time to wonder about a lot of things.  Really deep important things.  Be prepared: road trips make me loopy…..

This week’s wonderings (well – the ones I can recall anyway):

  1. Why have both of our older children chosen to go to a college all the way across the state from home? Literally.  It’s the farthest you can go and still pay in state tuition.  I’d like to believe that it just means I’ve raised them to be adventurous and independent.  Don’t burst my bubble.
  2. When did my itty bitty girls with the red curls grow up?  Does this mean I’m getting old?  Nah.  Can’t be that.
  3. Why are the last 60 miles of any trip the loooongest ever?
  4. Is it really necessary to list the price of everything in the hotel room on a card and threaten to charge me that price if something is missing when I leave?  Really.  Your towels are not that great.
  5. What does “Do me a solid” mean exactly? (Can you tell I was around college kids??)  Is there such a thing as “Do me a liquid”?  If so….is that bad?
  6. What is proper behavior when you are sitting at a business meeting and suddenly everyone in front of you turns around to stare?  (I should have asked this before they announced Sunday that I’d given my resignation.)  Are you suppose to stare straight ahead and pretend to not notice? Smile and wave? Stare back??  I had this overwhelming urge to cross my eyes and stick out my tongue.  Might as well give ’em something to look at  – right??
  7. Why do people turn around and stare?  Has no one ever told them it’s rude?
  8. How in the world did we used to drive for long distances before smart phones and satellite radio? I had both this time and still nearly lost my mind.
  9. Why do people call to ask your opinion and then argue with you?  Why don’t you just call and say, “I’m looking for someone to agree with me…..”
  10. Why, when you leave your children with other people, does that mom/grandma get up and make pancakes for your children in the morning?  That’s a lot different from the “you know where the Pop Tarts are”  life they live at home.

 

wonder2

 

8 responses to “I Wonder If It’s Wednesday…..

  1. Valerie says:

    Glad you’re back safe and sound! As much as I like traveling, I dislike roadtripping. Well, ones where you’re not really doing anything except going from point A to point B, anyway. ROFL at #10!! “you know where the poptarts are” Oh my word, funny!

    • wedelmom says:

      I’m exactly the same way. Roadtripping across Nebraska is especially painful.
      Somethings I buy them toaster waffles…. 😉

      • Valerie says:

        Yeah, I buy frozen waffles and a bunch of cold cereal/milk. No hot breakfasts here!

      • wedelmom says:

        If I could actually get my kids to eat cereal it would make my life easier. I do try to keep muffins and quick breads baked. At least then I feel like I put in a little effort. 😉

  2. I seriously spit out my food on #5!!! I have to remember not to be eating lunch when I read your posts!!! And now I am seriously wondering how someone came up with that solid thing…I know it’s going to eat away at me all day!

  3. javaj240 says:

    Clearly your children want to exert their independence while still being in the same state, LOL!

  4. When everyone was staring, you should have said, “Do me a solid.” Classic.
    I think #9 might be the story of my life…..

Leave a Reply

