The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

As I Wonder On A Wednesday

on February 20, 2013

WonderingWednesday

As our countdown clock continues to click down my wondering brain has kicked into high gear.  I wonder why I kept all this stuff.  I wonder why I didn’t notice how dirty that corner was.  I wonder if I’m going to lose my mind.  You know.  Normal things every person contemplates.  In addition to those wonderings, which are my new constant companions, here are a few of the others that have flitted through my brain – or what is left of it – lately.

  1. Why do products work so much better on television?  Is that fake soap scum and lime scale they are cleaning??
  2. Why do I not remember #1 until I’ve already bought the product?  Somewhere in my head I know it….I just keep holding out hope.  Does that make me a sucker?  (Please don’t answer that.) “Optimist”  sounds better.  We’ll go with that.
  3. Why is it that if something looks organized we ignore it?  We have a shelf in our family room with games and puzzles on it.  No one in our house has put together a puzzle for ten years.  Isn’t that kind of like decorating with puzzles – without the Modge Podge??
  4. When a blizzard is headed to the East Coast it gets a fun name like “Nemo.”  We get a big winter storm and they named it “Q”. Q? What creative genius came up with that?  They could think of “Quinten” or “Queenie” or “Quota” or….anything other than “Q”??  Wow.  I feel dissed.
  5. How much do people really think they can accomplish at a stop light? I think we need to pass a law that all cell phone numbers should be displayed on the back of people’s cars so that when the light changes and they are still sitting there writing a novel on their phone we can text “GO!!”  Honking just scares dumb people.
  6. Shouldn’t you have your makeup on before you leave the house?  Honking at that light is kind of fun in a mean sort of way….
  7. Why is it that some people (mostly women) never get out of junior high or high school emotionally? That behavior is marginally tolerable when you are age 13-18.  At age 30-50 it just makes you look ridiculous.
  8. Ever heard the saying, “Lack of planning on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part”?  While I love that saying, the truth is that lack of planning on your part makes my job harder.  Could you stop that?
  9. Why is it that we don’t say nice things to people until they are leaving and then we go overboard saying them?  Really – I’m not that insecure and you are making me uncomfortable.  STOP!
  10. Ever notice when they predict a snow storm the first thing the store runs out of is milk and bread.  Is there some rule that I don’t know about that says you make bread pudding during a blizzard??

wonderwoman2

13 responses to “As I Wonder On A Wednesday

  1. Valerie says:

    Your winter storm is called “Q”? Really?! That’s bizarre. LOL @ #10.
    Yeah, why is it that people get really sweet and tell you what you mean to them only when you’re LEAVING?! Btw, I’m glad you’re not leaving your blog! 😉

    • wedelmom says:

      Yes “Winter Storm Q”. It’s like it was too much work to come up with a q name.
      I don’t know why people do that. I try to let people know how much I appreciate periodically just so that i don’t have to give them a cavity from sweetness when they leave. 😉
      Thank you. I’m hoping to get more consistent again once our life settles down a little. 🙂

  2. I love number 10 – I love them all – but number 10 has me chuckling (to myself)

  3. Janelle says:

    Are you a Trekkie at all? Q was one of the bad guys on ST next generation. 🙂

  4. I am cracking up at the “I’m feeling dissed.” I can’t imagine that is part of your everyday vocabulary!! I have also wondered about #1!! Also, I absolutely love #3! Boy, am I ever “decorating” with a lot of crap around here!!! 17 more days??? Good Luck!!!

    • wedelmom says:

      Busted. I only pull out “I feel dissed” when trying to relate to my teenage children. 😉
      The shelf makes us look like such an all american family. I hate to bust my delusions…..

Leave a Reply

