The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

You Might Be Moving If…..

on February 24, 2013

moving

 

  1. You have recently discovered muscles you weren’t aware you had.
  2. Your heating pad has found a permanent residence on the lumbar region of your recliner.
  3. You find yourself asking “Where the heck did that come from?” more than once….an hour.
  4. Your children ask, “Mom where did you put….” and this time it really is your fault.
  5. You begin thinking in three categories: toss, donate, pack, and suddenly “toss” is your favorite.
  6. You suddenly understand why some people just leave everything in the house when they move.
  7. You discover dirt and belongings you never knew you had.
  8. Episodes of “Hoarders” constantly run through your head.
  9. Your new obsession in life is to find the tape.
  10. You resort to using a putty knife to attack that pesky hard water build-up in your bathtub.
  11. White vinegar is your new friend.
  12. You have to resist the urge to stick a label marked “Storage” on your children’s foreheads.
  13. Your daughters suddenly have a whole “new” supply of bobby pins.
  14. You resolve to be a better housekeeper in the next place….and then laugh.
  15. At any given time you can be found crying or laughing depending on what you are packing.  No need for medication…..I think that’s normal…..

moving-tip-_81

14 responses to “You Might Be Moving If…..

  1. Valerie says:

    Aww, I do NOT envy you! O_O Well, actually I do because we need a bigger place…but the actual MOVING part, I am not looking forward to!! Oh, and you better give me your new address once you’re settled in so I can send ya something! 😉

    • wedelmom says:

      My reccomendation is to hire someone. 😉
      I can actually send the new address now…. Of course there is no mailbox there yet – LOL!

      • Valerie says:

        Yeah, movers sound like a good idea! I had my husband read your post too and he was laughing!! 🙂
        Yeah, send the address!

      • wedelmom says:

        I’ve decided it’s the only way to go…well the only way to go and stay sane. Glad your husband got a chuckle. I’m determined to laugh through this even if it means making fun of myself. 😉
        I’ll get it sent!

  2. Anka says:

    I can definitely relate to #14- aspiring to be a better housekeeper the next time around. The problem is that I would just slip back into my old cleaning habits living in a NEW house. On a serious note, I hope that heating pad helps with your backaches! I’m sure it’s rough packing everything up!

  3. This is hysterical! I can only vaguely imagine going through this myself. I have moved plenty of times before children and that was hard enough…I can only imagine adding children to the mix plus all of their belongings and crap we have accumulated over the years!

  4. Have I ever told you that I LOVE packing. I’ve moved so many times that I’ve got it down to perfection. And, no, I’m not a vagrant.
    But seriously. Packing is fun. Make this your new mantra.

    • wedelmom says:

      I’ll let you know how that works for me….LOL! Thanks for the pep talk my friend.
      I will say getting rid of junk is fun. I feel so “light” now. 🙂

  5. at least you still have your sense of humour intact

Leave a Reply

