The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Wednesday Wonderings – I’m Baaaack!

on March 20, 2013

WonderingWednesday

 

Well…I’m almost back.  I’m blogging to you live today from our new landlord/neighbor…okay my parents’ home.  We have yet to get back “online” at our new location. It’s a long story involving cut phone lines and routers and metal studs but I won’t bore you with that.  I’ll just steal bandwidth from my ever-loving, ever-forgiving parents for now.  It’s been a busy two weeks. Enough to make a girl wonder.

  1. Why is it that no matter how well you think you’ve planned nothing ever goes as you thought it would?  That isn’t always bad, of course, but it sure makes me wonder why I wasted the time planning.  Of course if I hadn’t…
  2. Who hired the rodent to predict when spring was going to arrive?  He lies.  Eight inches of snow the day after we moved in…more predicted this weekend.  Last year at this time the magnolia tree in our yard…well our old yard…was starting to bloom.  Early spring? I don’t think so!
  3. Does anyone find it strangely amusing that your kids don’t appreciate you until you aren’t around any longer?  Our oldest daughter called last night and informed me how much she appreciates that I did her laundry all the time.  She just figured that out?
  4. Why do I own so many pitchers?  No one is that thirsty.
  5. Why is it so easy to fall out of a routine and so hard to get back into one.  Seriously: two weeks off the treadmill and this week you’d think I was going to die.  So much for thinking I’m in pretty good shape.  (Well…round is a shape.)
  6. Have you ever noticed that the stuff that drove you crazy as a kid you now enjoy?  I’m kind of liking the quiet and distance of being in the country right now.
  7. Why is it than when you are working you wish you could say home but when you are home you wish you had a job?  I’ve figured out I am no longer wired to be a stay at home mom.  Might have something to do with the fact that my kids are gone all day….
  8. Are anybody else’s parents like a thousand percent funnier now that they are older?  I swear…these are not the people who raised me.  Well they are but a kid playing a recorder for them seems to annoy them less these days.
  9. Who knew that the heat from a wood burning stove was so much warmer?  Okay a lot of people probably knew that but I just figured it out.
  10. Does anyone else achingly miss the internet when they don’t have access? If I had a dime for every time I’ve said, “well just look it up…oh…wait….” recently I’d be able to start my own internet provider company.

I’m also wondering how I made it this long without checking in on everyone.  Forgive me. It isn’t that I haven’t thought about it – or all of you! Happy mid-week all!

8 responses to “Wednesday Wonderings – I’m Baaaack!

  1. javaj240 says:

    Welcome back. I’ve missed you!

    Recently, during the purge of the hovel, I discovered that I owned no fewer than 11 pitchers. I would have to round up the neighbors in order to use them all. Ridiculous, what we accumulate, isn’t it?

    I agree wholeheartedly that “round” is, indeed, a shape. Not the shape our bodies should take, but a shape nonetheless.

    I am looking forward to the day when my daughter thanks me for doing her laundry. Or anything else, for that matter.

    My parents are Waaaaaaay funnier now than they were when I was still living with them. I’m sure our children will say the same about us someday.

    The best kind of stay-at-home mother is the kind without kids underfoot.

    • wedelmom says:

      Aw thanks! I’ve missed you too! i have some reading to catch up on.
      Yes – it is ridiculous what we accumulate. Maybe we should start lemonade stands?
      Trust me she will thank you some day. really. quit laughing.
      You are probably right. I’m sure i will grow more amusing as they age…mostly because I will be laughing at THEM. 🙂

  2. Valerie says:

    Hi and welcome back (for now!) I’ve really missed you! =)
    Haha about the pitchers. I think we may be that thirsty in summer here… 🙄 Send ’em on down here. 😉
    And I would LOVE some quiet and distance in the country! Well, add my windchimes to the porch and I’d be good to go!

    • wedelmom says:

      Hi and thanks! It feels good to be (sort of) back. 🙂
      I’ll see what the shipping will be on those pitchers. They need to go somewhere…
      The quiet and distance is good – for now. The trip in to get groceries and all the mud….not as fun but I’ll take it for the time being! 🙂

      • Valerie says:

        Haha, well considering they’re not FLAT pitchers that could be slipped in envelopes, I doubt it’d be worth the shipping for a little extra refreshment! 😉 Not to mention we basically just fill up on ICE COLD water all summer!
        Oh yeah, trips to get groceries would be different, for sure.

  3. Oh I missed you! I kept thinking about you and wondering when you were coming back! I know you have moving and unpacking to do but your absence was much too long!!! haha!! I hope everything went smoothly for you! Also, I spent the day with my parents yesterday and I was in stitches the whole time!!

    • wedelmom says:

      Thanks! I missed catching up with everyone on here too.
      Moving went…well…like moving. Not too bad but I’m not psyched to do it again anytime soon. lol!
      Amazing how their humor grows when the kids leave the house isn’t it? Gives me hope. 🙂

Leave a Reply

