The View From A Slightly Twisted Angle

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Back In The Saddle Again!

on April 9, 2013
photo credit:www.joanandarthur.blogspot.com

photo credit:www.joanandarthur.blogspot.com

It was a month ago today that we headed “south” with all our belongings packed into a truck. A month ago that our new adventure began.  What a month it has been!  A month of adjustment: A smaller house.  One bathroom. A dad who is home every day but an oldest daughter who is not.  New schools.  New schedules.  A bus ride for the kids. A month of re-learning how to build a fire in a wood burning stove. Of remembering what a mess snow and rain make a gravel road. (My “keep the cars clean at all times” husband may need therapy soon.)  Of peace and quiet.  Of reconnecting with our families.   For me it meant getting used to not working for a few weeks but that didn’t last long.  I am now in my second week at my job.  Yep.  One interview and I landed a job at a place that I am loving more every day.  (God takes really good care of me.)  More adjusting of schedules.  Did I mention that we have done a lot of adjusting.  It’s been one of the most challenging but rewarding months of my life.  I can honestly now say that I am so glad I laid down my original plans and dove in.  There were days when I wondered if I was losing my mind but I can now tell you it was worth it.  I feel like I’ve been let out of a cage.

I’m happy to report: we now have INTERNET – finally!  Amazing how you don’t really notice how much you depend on something until you can’t have it for a while.  (And I can’t begin to count the number of times I’d think, “That’s going in a blog…oh…wait…”)  It’s also amazing how something that sounds like it should be simple like, oh… reconnecting to the world-wide web…can get so complicated.  Who knew  that our former internet provider, who also happens to be our television provider, couldn’t possibly provide the same service we had aaaaalllll the way out here.  Four miles from town.  Apparently the exact same dish doesn’t work in the country.  Interesting isn’t it?   Thankfully there are all sorts of options out there for us “country folk” so after sorting through and comparing plans we finally chose one and got reconnected: without tunneling wire from my  parent’s modem to our house I might add.  You know what this all means right?

It means that while I may miss a day or two while I adjust back to working and my longer daily commute I am back in the blogging saddle.  Of course I’ve never been a big fan of horses.  Maybe I’ll go for this kind of saddle….

13 responses to “Back In The Saddle Again!

  1. javaj240 says:

    Those would be m kind of “saddle”, too!

    I’m happy you’re back. I missed you!

    I’m so happy to hear that you’re happy with the move. Your daughter will be back in the fold soon, so then it will really feel like home, I’m sure.

    It sounds like you’re settling in just fine. Good luck with the new job!

    • wedelmom says:

      Thank you! I’ve missed connecting with everyone here too. My smart phone hasn’t been so smart adjusting to it’s new towers. I think we’re finally done roaming – must mean we’re home lol.
      Are those saddles not the cutest??

      • javaj240 says:

        They are!

        I just reread my comment…. Apparently I couldn’t find a synonym for “happy”! And I was just beginning to think of myself more as a writer and less as a waitress. Alas! LOL!

      • wedelmom says:

        Well if you’re happy and you know it… 😉

  2. Janelle says:

    Ah, I understand the challenge of “country” internet. Welcome home, and welcome back!

    • wedelmom says:

      I had no clue it would be so challenging. Of course, it didn’t help that the phone line to the house were accidently cut putting in fence posts a few years ago….
      Thanks! It’s good to be home: both places. 🙂

  3. Congrats on the job! I didn’t know you had found one! I’m glad you’re back in the saddle…I missed you! The other day my husband and I were driving around in the country and I said I liked the area but he said we wouldn’t be able to get internet “way out there”…of course I wouldn’t want to move anywhere where I couldn’t get internet….I’ll have to look into these “other options” and see if I can convince him that we should move to the country!

    • wedelmom says:

      Thank you my friend! I didn’t really find the job – it found me. (long story. I’m sure I’ll blog about it sometime.) As long as there are phone lines into the house you can get internet. We didn’t have any….another long story. lol! Don’t let the fear of being disconnected stop you from moving to the country! 🙂

  4. Valerie says:

    My “keep the cars clean at all times” husband may need therapy soon — Hahaha!! My husband would be EXACTLY the same! In the fall, he is obsessive about leaves being cleaned off the front walk and driveways too… 😉

  5. YAY! You’re back!!! I missed you and all the Depends-destroying laughter you bring to my life! Congrats on the new job, having the hubby around full-time, getting Internet, and settling in to your new life. Yes, God is good!!
    Maybe my car-cleaning hubby and your car-cleaning hubby can start a support group.

Leave a Reply

